ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
68.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
3:15 pm
Perth
1:15 pm
Auckland
5:15 pm
New York*
1:15 am
Paris*
7:15 am
GMT
5:15 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 14-02-2018, 12:10 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 354
USB - a few questions for the techies

Hi guys,

Do we have any USB cabling gurus out there to provide some advice?

I believe the max distance for a USB 2 cable is 5m, USB is 3m.

I'm looking at relocating my control computer to a warmer spot for winter which will mean my USB cable run will need to be somewhere in the vicinity of 6-7m. What are my options????

I've read a USB hub will allow me to extend the run by another 5m. Is that a powered USB hub or just one of those 4-8 port cheapies you can get?
On the hub idea......if I throw say 4 usb cords in to the hub on the scope and then run a single usb lead back to the computer is that going to be an issue with the cables ability to carry the data I need it to carry?

What are other people doing? I currently have 6 x USB cables in the back of my desktop running various components......can I bring them all back in a single cord from a hub that is located closer to the scope to save the spaghetti I currently have?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-02-2018, 04:14 PM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 883
What about wifi for controlling a scope ?
No cables and enough range (30m for 2.4GHz and 10m for 5 GHz).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-02-2018, 04:28 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysurfer View Post
What about wifi for controlling a scope ?
No cables and enough range (30m for 2.4GHz and 10m for 5 GHz).
So you plug in to a hub and all usb traffic comes through a single wifi stream?

Cost?

Sorry.....not my forte at all this stuff!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-2018, 04:53 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,154
Jon,
I use a powered USB hub 6 port located on the mount and powered by a 12V to 6V convertor. Max I think 5A.
All the USB cables go to this hub and only one back to my local laptop.

I don't know the max distance for this PC to hub link....I use Teamviewer to "talk" to the local laptop from my warm and mozzie free office.
Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-02-2018, 05:07 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
Jon,
I use a powered USB hub 6 port located on the mount and powered by a 12V to 6V convertor. Max I think 5A.
All the USB cables go to this hub and only one back to my local laptop.

I don't know the max distance for this PC to hub link....I use Teamviewer to "talk" to the local laptop from my warm and mozzie free office.
Hope this helps.
Perfect Merlin.....thatís exactly the information I was hoping for.

Seems what I want to do I can do. Now to buy a USB hub and powered repeater.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-02-2018, 11:06 PM
kens (Ken)
Registered User

kens is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 238
I use an Orico 7 port powered USB3 hub that runs off 12V. I've had 2 cooled cameras, 3 regular cameras, filter wheel and mount all connected to the hub at once. It connects back to the PC via a 5m Active USB cable from Jaycar. They say you can run up to 5 of these in series so up to 25m.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-02-2018, 11:11 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,327
This is what I use - used to work fine with unpowered 4 port USB hub on the end of it, works fine with Mount Hub Pro currently.

https://www.jaycar.com.au/powered-us...d-10m/p/XC4120
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-02-2018, 06:10 AM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 354
This is why i love this place.....

So much knowledge that people are willing to share.

Cheers guys
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-02-2018, 09:02 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is online now
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,903
STI Powered hub does the job best.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-02-2018, 12:51 AM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,965
+ for the Jaycar 10 metre active USB cables, sir h0ugh introduced me to them at Astrofest many years ago, they work a treat.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17-02-2018, 07:11 AM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 354
Cheers guys.

Ordered a couple repeater cables and a hub so I should be good to go
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement