#1  
Old 28-10-2016, 08:27 PM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Maxim and dual-chip CCDs

I'm having a play with an SBIG ST-2000XM CCDwhich has the dual sensor arrangement. But these ST ccds don't have a ST4 port so my question is what settings to use in Maxim for the guider control. Main Relays, Telescope etc. Anyone got any idea?
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-10-2016, 05:58 PM
DJT (David)
Registered User

DJT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,345
Hi Peter
I am also playing around with the same CCD and software. Will send you details when I get back home tomorrow

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-10-2016, 06:32 PM
Spookyer's Avatar
Spookyer (Brett)
Brett P

Spookyer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dayboro
Posts: 522
Hi Peter, I use an SBIG dual chip with Sequence Generator Pro. For that there is another driver to download and you select what chip you want to guide with in the equipment setup area in SGP and select the driver in PHD. Not sure if Maxim is the same but David sound like he should be able to provide advice.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-10-2016, 06:47 PM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJT View Post
Hi Peter
I am also playing around with the same CCD and software. Will send you details when I get back home tomorrow

Cheers
Thanks David and Brett. Looking forward to being enlightened.
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-10-2016, 09:37 PM
ericwbenson (Eric)
Registered User

ericwbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 196
Hi Peter,
You can use main relays if you connect the ST4 cable (which attaches to the camera via a DB9-RJ something adapter). Or use telescope and no cable. Which is better mostly depends on the mount and how it handles guide corrections. However most mounts these days handle ASCOM direct guider signals fine. (Telescope connection = ASCOM direct, the telescope connection also allows Maxim to control the scope slewing etc)

HTH,
EB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-10-2016, 02:57 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericwbenson View Post
Hi Peter,
You can use main relays if you connect the ST4 cable (which attaches to the camera via a DB9-RJ something adapter). Or use telescope and no cable. Which is better mostly depends on the mount and how it handles guide corrections. However most mounts these days handle ASCOM direct guider signals fine. (Telescope connection = ASCOM direct, the telescope connection also allows Maxim to control the scope slewing etc)

HTH,
EB
Thanks Eric. I am indebted to you for that info.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-10-2016, 08:51 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 6,474
Make yourself a TIC cable (as per the manual or SBIG web site).

This will give you a ST4 compatible connector....and due its low response time I suspect you will find it works so much better than any direct guide/ASCOM mode.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-10-2016, 04:08 AM
pmrid's Avatar
pmrid (Peter)
Ageing badly.

pmrid is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bribie Is.
Posts: 3,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ward View Post
Make yourself a TIC cable (as per the manual or SBIG web site).

This will give you a ST4 compatible connector....and due its low response time I suspect you will find it works so much better than any direct guide/ASCOM mode.
G'day Peter. I have a distant recollection about problems with ground loops with TIC cables and ST cameras - and perhaps needing an opto-isolator to be inserted between CCD. and mount. Does that ring any bells with you?

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2016, 07:55 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 6,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmrid View Post
G'day Peter. I have a distant recollection about problems with ground loops with TIC cables and ST cameras - and perhaps needing an opto-isolator to be inserted between CCD. and mount. Does that ring any bells with you?

Peter
Ah...well yes, if you are using a Losmandy digital stepper and DSC's you might have a problem....but I assume this is not the drive you are using.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement