#1  
Old 12-10-2013, 08:30 AM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,348
focusing with QHY9

Hi guys,

thinking of getting a dedicated CCD in the future and would like to know if there is some form of live view function with them that allows you to focus, or is it shoot, focus, shoot, focus etc....

Just interested as my current 400D which is well over the hill and getting tired, I have to shoot and focus, shoot, focus etc... which is a right old pain in the ....

Comment appreciated, tried looking for youtube vids on it too, but seem to be going around in circles.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2013, 09:23 AM
rogerco's Avatar
rogerco (Roger)
Roger

rogerco is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodford,NSW,Australia
Posts: 388
Via the software on the PC you set it to continually shot, it's not live, that requires a video feed, you notice a flicker as it updates, but you don't have to keep "pressing the button"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2013, 09:31 AM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
most of the CCD camera control software has the equivalent of live view. I use Nebulosity, which provides a rapid update view of a small section of the image around a chosen star and reports in near-real-time on the peak level and half flux star radius (both useful focus measures) as you adjust the focus. effective and quick. regards ray
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2013, 10:50 AM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
I just do 1sec binnedx2 on a bright star (and Bhat mask) with mine Andrew. Binnedx2 downloads in about a second anyway. Too lazy to define a sub-frame usually, but yes that makes it a lot faster too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2013, 11:51 AM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,348
Ahh makes sense. I guess this will all become obvious once I get the camera in the next decade or so. Just trying to learn as much as I can to flatten out the steep learning curve.

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:39 PM
alpal's Avatar
alpal
Registered User

alpal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroman View Post
Ahh makes sense. I guess this will all become obvious once I get the camera in the next decade or so. Just trying to learn as much as I can to flatten out the steep learning curve.

Thanks guys!

Yes - just use a Bahtinov mask & watch in the downloaded shots
or do 2 second updates with binning.
It's much easier than live view on a DSLR.

If you have Maxim DL you can sample the stars in all 4 corners
plus the middle of each frame while you wait
for the next frame.
You can see FWHM in all 5 areas to compare with previous
frames to see if you're losing focus & what the seeing is like.

That sort of real time update can save you a lot of wasted frames.
I remember once doing the LMC for over 3 hours without
realizing my focus was slightly off using a DSLR.
I only found out the next day when I went to process.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2013, 02:27 PM
alistairsam's Avatar
alistairsam
Registered User

alistairsam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Box Hill North, Vic
Posts: 1,817
Hi,

You can set continuous mode in almost all software, that's basically repeating your exposure continuously.
when using a DSLR, I set backyardeos to continuous or loop, set the exposure to 1 sec and use a baht mask on a bright star. i don't bother with live view.
this way i make small adjustments every 2 seconds. works very well.

similar thing with ccd's. you can set the exposure to 1sec, continuous an watch the downloaded image with the baht mask on.

focusmax is widely used for automated focusing with motorized focusers. i'm working on a picaxe controller that accepts ascom focuser commands via usb. not very hard to build if you're into it.

Cheers
Alistair
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2013, 02:32 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,223
Usually use the fine focus feature in Nebulosity with a bathinov mask or by the numbers if I use a lens.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement