ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
25.8%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
1:06 pm
Perth
10:06 am
Auckland*
3:06 pm
New York
9:06 pm
Paris
3:06 am
GMT
2:06 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > IceTrade Classifieds > IceTrade Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-09-2017, 09:12 AM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 18
18inch Dobsonian telescope Offers

For sale is an 18 inch f4.7 telescope on dobsonian mount, complete.
Lightweight aluminium tube splits in two for quick packing (each of which can split into three plus the secondary turret). Mount splits into 4 pieces to lie flat. Secondary section rotates. Made for easy portability.

Includes-
18inch f4.7 newtonian complete,
Dobsonian mount,
Helical focusser for 1.25" & 2" eyepieces,
9x50 Orion right angle finder scope,
Rigel Quickfinder,
Mirror box,
Ladder.


Mirrors are aluminised and the primary has a quartz overcoating. Coatings are in very good condition. The optics are free from astigmatism and aberrations and the mirror certificate from the mirror maker claims 1/4 wave accuracy. Primary mirror is soda lime glass 29mm thick giving easy cooling and lighter weight.
In practice with excellent seeing the cooled scope gives excellent views. The homunculus of Eta carina can be clearly seen. Globulars are spectacular. 20-40mm eyepieces of 1.25" and 2" diameter are most delightful not requiring coma correction.
Cooling fan in mirror cell.
Fan over primary mirror face.
Wind defeating altitude tensioner.

All offers welcomed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG20170925172433.jpg)
108.5 KB338 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170913172914.jpg)
117.3 KB269 views
Click for full-size image (IMG20170919151946.jpg)
70.9 KB244 views
Click for full-size image (m2.jpg)
58.8 KB25 views
Click for full-size image (m3.jpg)
58.1 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (m4.jpg)
55.0 KB19 views
Click for full-size image (m5.jpg)
74.1 KB21 views
Click for full-size image (m6.jpg)
62.4 KB22 views

Last edited by gb44; 24-10-2017 at 11:16 AM. Reason: change wording
  #2  
Old 27-09-2017, 03:08 PM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,406
If I had the space & a reasonable dark-sky, I'd snatch this as I have seen through it & imaged through it.
A retro scope with top quality optics, 18"

But Im selling some astro too, focusing on Camping these days
  #3  
Old 04-10-2017, 08:07 PM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 18
18 inch assembly pics

This shows the order of assembly. The only tool is the Allen key to secure the mirror with 6 allen screws. ( Included with the sale! )
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Assembly.jpg)
94.7 KB123 views
Click for full-size image (Assembly2.jpg)
74.2 KB103 views
  #4  
Old 09-10-2017, 10:55 AM
D10 (David)
Registered User

D10 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halekulani
Posts: 0
Hi Glenn
I am interested in your 18 inch Dob. Could you please send me a phone contact number or your own email address.
cheers
David
  #5  
Old 09-10-2017, 08:12 PM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 18
18 inch dob

David, I have sent the info on PM.
Glenn
  #6  
Old 24-10-2017, 11:15 AM
gb44 (Glenn)
Registered User

gb44 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 18
18 inch dob

Thanks for your interest.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement