Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Observational and Visual Astronomy
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-03-2024, 06:27 PM
Mark_Heli (Mark)

Equatorial Mount Simulator

I have always found equatorial mounts and polar alignment difficult to visualise.

With some time over XMAS / NY, I thought I would try to create a simple simulator. I am not an expert in either eq mounts or simulators, so it was a good learning curve.

Features include:

* Accurate star positions from the Harvard Bright Star Catalog
* Ability to control lat, long, alt, az, ra & dec
* Go-To selected stars and back to home position
* Tracking
* Meridian Flips
* Indicator to show polar alignment accuracy

It was only intended for my use, but it has turned out quite well and maybe useful for others.

As mentioned above, I am no expert so if something doesn't work correctly (likely) let me know.

I have temporarily uploaded it to link below. It should be run on a PC. iPads/Tablets will probably be too slow.

http://eqmountsimulator.s3-website-a...amazonaws.com/

Cheers,
Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (EqMountSim.jpg)
180.7 KB50 views
Old 07-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Mark_Heli (Mark)

A couple of useful notes...

1. For the go-to functionality to work, you will need to be roughly polar aligned. The better the polar alignment, the better the go-to accuracy will be.
* When the app starts, the scope is already pointing south
* Entering the altitude (based on the observing latitude) will get the scope polar aligned
* You can confirm the polar alignment accuracy by looking at the 'Polar alignment error' and coloured circle.
* Alternatively, you can polar align the scope by drift alignment (pressing T will toggle the reticule)

2. Once the scope is polar aligned, you can go-to a star by selecting the star and the clicking 'Goto Selected'.
* The scope will slew to the selected star