Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 18-03-2008, 06:04 PM
Grantj

ED80 or ED100 for photography

Hello all, complete newbie here (besides some basic visual a long time ago) looking to get into DSO photography. Looking at the Skywatcher 80EDPro and 100EDPro (on a HEQ5Pro mount) and wanting to know if the extra $500 spent on the 100ED is worth it (with its slower f/ratio). I have seen some amazing photos from the 80ED's which is pushing me in that diretion and maybe freeing up some cash for the DSLR. Also on the topic of DSLR's again trying to decide between the more budget friendly Canon 350d and the higher priced 40d and would like opinions here too.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Grantj; 18-03-2008 at 06:42 PM.
Old 18-03-2008, 06:36 PM
dugnsuz (Doug)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantj View Post
Looking at the Skywalker 80EDPro and 100EDPro (on a HEQ5Pro mount)...
Use the force Grant, use the force!!!

Welcome to IIS from another SA boy with similar tastes!

Skywatcher ED80 Pro is my imaging scope and I love the widefield views achieved with it.(Also use a 40D and love that too!)
The ED100 is going to get you "closer in" to DSOs - probably worth considering if you need the extra focal length for imaging galaxies, planetary nebulae etc.
All the best
Doug
Old 18-03-2008, 06:49 PM
Grantj

HAHA oops, I should pay attention to what I am typing.

Your photos were the first I saw using a ED80Pro and pushed me down this path. At this point my budget will probably allow an ED80 Pro and Canon 40d (which quite clearly is a good package) or a 100ED Pro and a 350d.
Old 18-03-2008, 07:21 PM
mark3d

the camera is good for other stuff too so i'd choose the package with the best camera

(i know nothing about astrophotography though )

(the cool breeze must be waking the adelaide folk up lol)
Old 18-03-2008, 07:55 PM
dugnsuz (Doug)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantj View Post