Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24-06-2013, 01:20 AM
littlegreenman

Buying Old Telescope

Hi All,

I am new here and this is my first post.
I've been visiting this forum for many months now.

I have a question about buying a telescope (dobsonian).
Are older dobsonian telescopes as good as the new ones?
I've been watching the fleebay and gumtree for used telescopes.
Some are around 10 years old (skywatcher, celestron, meade etc)
They look very similar to the new ones.

My plan is to get 8" - 12" dobsonian.
I only want to use it on my backyard for occasional stargazing.
I've seen the view on 8", 10" and 12" (new ones).

Thank you.
Old 24-06-2013, 03:17 AM
Allan_L (Allan)
Member > 10year club

The main thing to watch is the condition of the primary mirror.
Depending on how well it has been cared for.
The mirror coating may be deteriorating or damaged in some way.
I believe it is not uncommon for mirrors to need re-coating after about 10 years.
Another killer can be mold if allowed to remain damp, or kept in a damp environment.
Ask questions like how and where it has been stored.
Has the mirror been cleaned. If so, how?
Check other glass surfaces similarly (secondary mirror; finder scope; eyepieces too).
Make sure rocker box is in good condition. (MDF and moisture don't mix well). Assess the effect of any DIY mods.

A preloved scope can be a bargain, with extras, accessories, and beneficial mods already made, but remember, you (generally) don't get any warranty, and you need to feel comfortable that this risk is covered by any cost saving.

BTW Welcome to IIS
Old 24-06-2013, 11:53 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

I have seen some awful dobs. Some of the early ones were really bad. The Celestron ones had cardboard tubes which in theory should be OK but are really susceptible to moisture.
As Allan said the mirror and the mount are the main items.