Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2011, 06:40 PM
Forgey (Paula)

Hello all

Hi all, having had a interest in astronomy since i was a kid im still a beginner. Over the past few years ive been using a telescope thats really only good for looking at the moon, so now its time to upgrade.

Am thinking of getting a Saxon Dob 8 - 200mm (8 inch) Reflecting telescope system or a Dob 10"

Is there any other scopes that anyone would recommend for viewng stars/planets/clusters.

cheers
Old 11-07-2011, 07:49 PM
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

Hi Paula, welcome to IIS

Either a 8" or 10" dob of any brand will be a good purchase for a beginner. Plenty of aperture to pull in all that light. Now, it's just a matter of what brand and what extras you want. But more importantly, how much are you willing to spend on it. You can get goto dobs which will track objects you look for, open (truss) tube scopes, closed tube scopes...all sorts of scopes within your size range and above.

So, how much are you willing to spend on a scope?? That way, we can advise you more closely as to what is available.
Old 11-07-2011, 07:56 PM
stephenb (Stephen)

Hi Paula, and welcome

Both of those telescopes which you mention will expand your viewing experiences. If you can stretch your budget to a 10", that would be my preference, however there are a few things to consider. Do you plan to transport the scope in your car? Or are you happy to observe from the backyard. Generally, Dobsonians can be tricky to transport, depending on the type and design. Some are more compact than other. Both the Saxon 8" and 10" Dob are both "Newtonian Reflectors" but the Dobsonian is mounted on a simple "lazy Susan-style" mount. Don't dismiss them, as you get more mirror aperture for your $$ ("more bang for your buck is the term you'll read here a lot")