Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 29-12-2014, 01:44 AM
Reiign (Brendan)

Arrow Hello From Melbourne

Hey guys and girls. My name is Brendan. I live in Hoppers Crossing Victoria and do web development and quite a few other things to get by. I have always been interested in stargazing and space. I wanted to take some astro photos and got pointed over here from another forum. I currently have a nikon d60. It has the remote for bulb mode and i have programmed my arduino to trigger it for time lapse.

Unfortunately this is all i have at the moment. So tomorrow morning i have decided to go do some shopping. Now i am a complete noob at this. I have been fascinated by certain moving things in our sky the past few nights. And would love to be able to see them closer to identify them. I figure a telescope wouldn't be to good at this. (correct me if im wrong)

So i am realistically hoping you guys can point me in the right direction in Melbourne to buy some things to achieve this.

Even if you have something for sale that isn't to far. I may come grab it!

Thanks Brendan.
Old 29-12-2014, 08:46 AM
byronpaul (Paul)

G'day Brendan,

Welcome to the forum.

Your intro sounds like how a lot of us here started, and yes a telescope will achieve what your after.

Budget is a key consideration, and also your physical capability to move it around or transport it.

As you live in Hopper's Crossing, you have a fair bit of light pollution to contend with, like all of us that live in or near a CBD, so the ability to travel out to a dark site should be considered. What you'll see at a dark site far exceeds what you'll see from or near Melbourne.

Having said that, from home you'll still see some amazing things, even Comet C/2014 Q2 which is almost approaching naked eye capability at the moment.