Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2005, 09:34 PM
Bazooka
Fresh Blood

Total Newbie

Hi everybody

I am a total newbie when it comes to astronomy and the like and have only looked through a handful of telescopes throughout my life. I have always been very interested in the heavens and have decided to look at purchasing my first telescope.

This question has probably been asked many times before by other people new to the game but what is a good telescope to look for with a budget of around $1000.

I walked into a local retailer the other day and came away even more confused with my options. I had no idea there were so many different scopes. What should I look for? I dont even know what questions I should be asking LOL. Would something with a go-to (think thats what you call it) database be in the budget seeing it would make things easier to find.

Are there any clubs or groups on or around the Gold Coast that I can contact to get some hands on?

Any other info that would help me along would be appreciated.

Last edited by Bazooka; 09-04-2005 at 09:43 AM.
Old 08-04-2005, 09:53 PM
slice of heaven

Hi Bazooka
Welcome to the site .
I think I you might get swamped by the dob boys .

Slice

By the way it's astronomy not astrology.Edit your post before it's too late

oops..too late...here they come

Last edited by slice of heaven; 08-04-2005 at 10:38 PM.
Old 08-04-2005, 09:56 PM
astro_south (Andrew)
No GOTO..I enjoy the hunt

First thing Bazooka - edit the above post to read astronomy!!

Secondly, the astronomy society that covers southern Brisbane and the Gold Coast is the Southern Astronomical Society(SAS). Their website is www.sas.org.au Many of the members live on the coast, so if you hook up with them you should be able get some direct help from them.