#1  
Old 26-03-2015, 06:34 PM
speach's Avatar
speach (Simon)
Registered User

speach is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wonthaggi Vic
Posts: 625
ssag drivers HELP

I've just got an Orion auto guider, and can't get the camera recognized by PHD. I'm running win 7 and have downloaded the drivers from the Orion site as told to, extracted them, done all I was told to but still the camera isn't recognised. Has anyone else had this problem? If so how did they get over it?

:mad2 :
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2015, 07:38 AM
Neil
Registered User

Neil is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thornton,N S W
Posts: 240
G'day Simon, I'm having the same problem, although mine is an Orion Planetary Imager and Auto-guider. I'm also very dis-appointed with the lack of response on this and other forums, best of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2015, 08:08 AM
NorthernLight's Avatar
NorthernLight (Max)
Settled

NorthernLight is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 321
Hi Simon,
I had the same issue after upgrading my laptop. On the Orion website there are 2 drivers for download. I initially installed the vers. 4 driver and that let nowhere. But after installing the vers. 2 driver it worked fine.
Install the driver first,then restart and plug in the camera.
Hope it works!
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2015, 03:18 PM
ags_'s Avatar
ags_ (Phil)
Registered User

ags_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rubyvale Qld
Posts: 398
Have you got the CD that should have come with it? Try loading that 1st and then updatwe the drivers if it still not working.

Cheers ags_
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2015, 06:55 AM
Slawomir's Avatar
Slawomir (Suavi)
Amateur Photon Collector

Slawomir is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Proserpine
Posts: 3,002
Hi Simon,

Sorry to year about your troubles with getting your new guide camera running. I use V2 version of the drivers and it works fine with my old laptop (Win Vista). Maybe also try connecting the camera to a different USB port?

Hope you will get it resolved quickly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2015, 05:19 AM
Neil
Registered User

Neil is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Thornton,N S W
Posts: 240
G,day Simon, I downloaded series4, and series2 and it still doesn't want to recognize the camera, have you had any luck yet?, clear skies.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2015, 07:31 AM
speach's Avatar
speach (Simon)
Registered User

speach is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Wonthaggi Vic
Posts: 625
Contacted Orion Tech help, said to download the old phd as then the camera doesn't need the ascom drivers. Now trying to get it to track is another thing. At the moment I get 2mins just with the mount unguided but only 10 sec guided, but we'll get there! I hope!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-04-2015, 03:08 PM
redterry (Terry)
Registered User

redterry is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gawler
Posts: 3
ssag drivers - help

Had similar problems and contacted Orion. Advised to do the following:-
"There have been instances when the device driver wizard will not launch when you plug in the camera but the computer chimes.
1. Open the device Manager.
2. Look for Other Devices on the list of devices.
3. There may be an "Unknown Device" listed under Other devices. This is most likely the camera.
4. Double click on the unknown device (or right click and select properties)
5. Click on the Driver tab.
6. Click on update Driver
Select Browse my computer for driver software and insert CD and click Drivers.
If successful, the camera will appear under the USB serial controllers list and the camera is now installed."
I had to try a couple of time but eventually it worked.
Hope that helps in some way.

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-04-2015, 10:00 PM
uwahl's Avatar
uwahl (Ulrich)
Mr Avalot To'Learn

uwahl is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 158
My two cents worth - I had problems on a laptop loaded with windows 8.1. I had to -
1 Make sure I used the same laptop USB port that I initially connected the camera to every time.
2 I still can't get it recognised using a powered USB hub.
3 It doesn't like USB 3 ports, only USB 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement