#1  
Old 23-09-2019, 07:49 AM
skytry (Peter)
Registered User

skytry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Heathmere 3305
Posts: 142
Canon 300mm

hi to all,
I require help with regard to astroimaging,
my Canon EF 300mm,1:4L lens has IS,
my question is,
if I use a tripod for imaging,
and switch OFF the IS,
then does the lens assume the,.
300mm 1:4 L capability,

thank you in advance,

rgds,
Peter,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-09-2019, 08:37 AM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,467
Hi Peter,

If you switch OFF the IS and the auto-focus, then you have a lens which will behave like a 300mm f/4 manual lens.

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-09-2019, 10:08 AM
skytry (Peter)
Registered User

skytry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Heathmere 3305
Posts: 142
hi JA,
thank you,

what would happen with video cropping,
can I stall have auto focus?,

rgds,
Peter,

Last edited by skytry; 23-09-2019 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-09-2019, 05:00 PM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by skytry View Post
hi JA,
thank you,

what would happen with video cropping,
can I stall have auto focus?,

rgds,
Peter,
Please clarify your question.

Are you referring to the Field of View Crop in Video Mode or something else...? You were originally asking about astro-imaging, usually that's done by manual focus. Why the interest in autofocus for that application?

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-09-2019, 05:37 PM
skytry (Peter)
Registered User

skytry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Heathmere 3305
Posts: 142
Canon 300

hi JA,
I understand your answer, ok,
with items adjusted,

If I wanted to use it for planets
in crop mode 1-1 can this be done ok,

also, can you help me with settings for 1-1 crop,

rgds,
Peter,
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-09-2019, 05:50 PM
JA
.....

JA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,467
As suggested in the link below, you can do it directly from the camera depending on the Canon model or possibly more easily by using Backyard EOS software. Here is some reading on the former...

http://www.astropix.com/html/i_astro...esolution.html

It explains how to test the crop video to see if it is 1:1. Essentially take an image at Full res and compare it with a video frame taken from one of the camera's low res movie modes.

BTW I'm am Nikon

Best
JA

Last edited by JA; 23-09-2019 at 07:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-09-2019, 06:46 AM
skytry (Peter)
Registered User

skytry is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Heathmere 3305
Posts: 142
Canon 300

hi JA,
thank you,
you have been a great help,
I appreciate your assistance and link,
I am using a Canon 60D, unmodded,
rgds,
Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement