#1  
Old 04-07-2009, 04:27 PM
blueskies123_89's Avatar
blueskies123_89 (George)
Registered User

blueskies123_89 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 89
DSI as an autoguider

Hi guys,

I'm considering buying a DSI II pro 2nd hand as an autoguider at the price range of $380ish, just asking around if anyone has had trouble with this setup before I commit.

I plan to use the Orion ED80 as an guidescope, DSI connected to vista laptop and PHD as the guiding software, and then onto an LXD75 mount with a SN8 (I know its pushing it for this mount but Im saving up for that later).

SO, is DSI a suitable autoguider, does it hav trouble with Vista, etc?

I can spend a bit more and get a new Orion Starshoot autoguider from bintel for $450, but is that worth it?

Thanks,
George
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:41 PM
Glenhuon (Bill)
Registered User

Glenhuon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Geraldton, WA
Posts: 1,440
I use a DSI1 and PHD through an 80mm home built F5 refractor as an autoguider and it does the job very well. Not sure about Vista, I use XP, but I'm sure there will be a Vista driver for the DSI's and PHD by now.

Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2009, 07:45 PM
White Rabbit's Avatar
White Rabbit
Space Cadet

White Rabbit is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,409
ditto the above, I use one as my auto guider and it works very well. I'm using xp though so cant coment about vista.

sandy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2009, 08:48 PM
tbothy
Registered User

tbothy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tanunda
Posts: 42
Hi George
Ive used a DSI I with a LXD55 connected to a vista laptop with PHD as the guiding software, One problem I had was with the installation of the DSI I drivers as the software was for XP and hadnt been tested for Vista (I think i had to manually install the drivers), But this may not be a problem for a DSI II, search the web for more info.
The Orion Starshoot autoguider would be nice but you would also need a st4 interface (Meade APM 909) for the LXD75 to use the ST4 compatible autoguide output jack on camera body.
Cheers
Bothy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2009, 09:02 PM
blueskies123_89's Avatar
blueskies123_89 (George)
Registered User

blueskies123_89 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 89
Thanks guys for the reassurance.

tbothy, how did you connect the PC to the mount?

George
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2009, 10:00 PM
tbothy
Registered User

tbothy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tanunda
Posts: 42
Hi George
To connect to the LXD55 I used a 4 pin to RS232 serial cable that connects into the Autostar Hand Controller and a serial port on the laptop.
I bought the cable and USB serial port on ebay from a seller in the UK, it wasnt very expensive, you might even get one when you buy the DSI, ask the seller, because I think I did get one when I purchased a LPI.
Cheers
Bothy

Last edited by tbothy; 04-07-2009 at 10:03 PM. Reason: Corrections
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-07-2009, 07:06 PM
bmitchell82's Avatar
bmitchell82 (Brendan)
Newtonian power! Love it!

bmitchell82 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 2,597
I have the DSI and DSI 2 and they go though a 114mm DSE refractor piggy backed and it holds round stars for 20min plus weather dependant as i have a parachute hanging off the top of it! Otherwise 1 second iterations generally find me 3-5 stars which is ample sufficient!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
And why wouldnt you buy the far superior QHY5 (guide only, made for the job) cam new for $350 from gama ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-07-2009, 10:07 AM
Karls48 (Karl)
Registered User

Karls48 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 753
QHY5 is by far superior to DSI and DSI2 for guiding. And it is about same price.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-07-2009, 12:01 PM
blueskies123_89's Avatar
blueskies123_89 (George)
Registered User

blueskies123_89 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 89
Hi... I guess I didnt do my research right. I've already bought the DSI II a week ago. It seemed to have worked fine until it encountered a lot of slack in the DEC. The problem was that when PHD was doing calibration in DEC, it slewed N, and then changed direction to slew S, but after 15 iterations the scope still didn't change direction, which confused PHD. I think I need to train the gears.

Also, I thought with a proper filters later on, I might be able to get into photometry with the DSI, but I guess youre right that the QHY5 wouldve been a better choice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement