ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON New Moon
0.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
6:25 am
Perth
3:25 am
Auckland*
8:25 am
New York
2:25 pm
Paris
8:25 pm
GMT
7:25 pm




  #1  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:50 PM
I.C.D (Ian)
Registered User

I.C.D is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wattle Ponds via Singleton
Posts: 382
Sky-Watcher Wi-Fi

Just come across an article about the Sky-Watcher Wi-Fi set up Sky watcher mounts ,has anyone use it yet and it as good as the Celestron Wi-Fi set up
Ian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2017, 09:37 AM
Camelopardalis's Avatar
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

Camelopardalis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,945
I have one...it's a great little gizmo.

You plug it into the mount, join its wifi and fire up the app on your smartphone/tablet. The app then functions as the hand controller.

It's very responsive to controls, which is really important to me as I intend to use it for mozzie-protected planetary imaging (i.e. from behind a pane of glass).

There is an ASCOM driver for imagers/PC users also, freeing up a valuable USB port. Through the ASCOM driver, you should be able to connect to the mount through a sky chart program such as Stellarium, CdC, etc.

I've never used the Celestron equivalent, so can't compare.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2017, 10:03 AM
jenchris's Avatar
jenchris (Jennifer)
Registered User

jenchris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ormeau Gold Coast
Posts: 2,023
My camera is wifi (70DW) - and that's a nice bonus not to have the wire hanging from the extremeties.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2017, 12:20 PM
DavidLJ's Avatar
DavidLJ (David)
Registered User

DavidLJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 109
There are currently two SynScan apps for controlling a SkyWatcher mount via the SynScan Wi-Fi Adapter. The original one is called “SynScan App”. The new one is called “SynScan App Pro”. Both are free downloads. The blurb for the new one indicates that it is for the advanced user and it does add some features that were missing from the original although the main features are identical. It also corrects some bugs that were present in the original. I can see no reason why anyone would now choose the original in preference to the new app.


Attached is a diagram showing how one can now control a SkyWatcher mount wirelessly using a planetarium or planning program on a Windows PC. It involves downloading and using the Windows version of the SynScan App Pro and the appropriate ASCOM driver. The diagram is based on the planetarium / planning software that I have on my Windows laptop but any program that interfaces to the mount via ASCOM should work just as well. Should I ever need to I can connect and use all three planetarium / planning programs simultaneously in addition to using the SynScan App.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Diagram Using Windows PC programs to control SkyWatcher mount via SynScan WiFi Adapter.JPG)
151.5 KB16 views
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-12-2017, 03:39 PM
DavidLJ's Avatar
DavidLJ (David)
Registered User

DavidLJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 109
A problem with the layout given in the diagram accompanying the previous posting is that when standing at the telescope and peering into the eyepiece of the finder 'scope so as to centre alignment stars the slew buttons on the PC will be very awkward to use. Very likely they will be out of reach and/or you would have to remove your eye from the eyepiece to be able to use them. A much better approach would be to use corresponding slew buttons on a mobile device (e.g. smartphone) when peering into the eyepiece. That means loading the SynScan App onto both the PC and the mobile device and connecting both to the SynScan WiFi Adapter wirelessly. Attached is a revised diagram that takes this approach.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Diagram Using PC Control of SkyWatcher Mount via WiFi Adapter revised.JPG)
183.8 KB5 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement