ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON First Quarter
56.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
8:42 pm
Perth
6:42 pm
Auckland
10:42 pm
New York*
6:42 am
Paris*
12:42 pm
GMT
10:42 am




  #1  
Old 21-06-2018, 06:19 PM
geolindon (Lindon)
Registered User

geolindon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Moore Park Beach, Qld. Australia
Posts: 270
Io transit

g day

Io is currently transiting and is clearly visible because it is lined up nicely with a northern dark band
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-06-2018, 10:48 AM
Baza (Barry)
Registered User

Baza is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Heathcote NSW
Posts: 79
May have been . Sky safari shows ganymede transit 26 june.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-06-2018, 11:38 AM
geolindon (Lindon)
Registered User

geolindon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Moore Park Beach, Qld. Australia
Posts: 270
Jupiter moons prime time events

g day Baza,

i use the lists in 'ASTRONOMY 2018 Australia' book by Wallace, Dawes and Northfield. Quasar Publishing.

the Ganymede transit is not shown for the 26th. is it in daylight perhaps? 'cos they only list events in the dark. a nice Europa Occult disappearance at 17.20 and eclipse reappearance at 23.33. eclipse reappearances are fun 'cos the moon reappears away from Jupiter's limb seemingly outa nowhere. the first one i watched really got me by surprise.

on 28th there is an Europa shadow egress at 17.50
then an Io plus shadow transit from 19.44 thru 22.55

i like 'em in 'prime time' and the balmy 15' C of Qld winter evenings
some rain 'd be handy but if its not gunna rain then clear skies please.

regards, L
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-06-2018, 01:31 PM
Tinderboxsky's Avatar
Tinderboxsky (Steve)
I can see clearly now ...

Tinderboxsky is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tinderbox TAS
Posts: 544
That was a good heads up, thank you Lindon. I went out almost immediately and was greeted by a clear sky with faint thin high cloud.

I could not pick up Io in mid transit as the seeing was just not good enough. Revisited later and was able to pick up Io in front of Jupiter as it approached egress. Io's shadow was clearly visible by then. I stayed and watched the egress.

I enjoy these events - they give a clear sense of motion. I have an ongoing little project to log an observation for each event for each of the four moons - ingress+transit+egress, occultation disappearance+reappearance, eclipse disappearance +reappearance, shadow ingress+transit+egress. I am now only missing some Callisto events, but I think I have to wait until 2022 to catch these. Then there are multiple Moon events and ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by geolindon View Post
g day

Io is currently transiting and is clearly visible because it is lined up nicely with a northern dark band
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-06-2018, 03:32 PM
Baza (Barry)
Registered User

Baza is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Heathcote NSW
Posts: 79
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2018, 09:47 AM
geolindon (Lindon)
Registered User

geolindon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Moore Park Beach, Qld. Australia
Posts: 270
happy to help

i share your awe Steve and your project is cool
i particularly enjoyed watching moon eclipse moon events i think it was 2015 when Jupiter's tilt aligned their orbital disc to us.

its raining YEAH
regards, L
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement