Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 30-11-2008, 05:42 PM
jungle11 (Greg)
The Dobslinger

Question Nebulae

Hi fellas,

I had my first night's viewing with my new telescope last night. Just had a quick question.

Orion and the Tarantula were awsome and the detail was great at all available mags (3!)

And yet I did not have luck with 2 others: the rosette, and the cone? Perhaps I was getting myself lost, but I could find no hint of them at all. I have no filters to work with and I have no prior knowledge about what I should and shouldn't see.

If someone could set me straight it would be appreciated.

Thanks
Jungle
Old 30-11-2008, 09:15 PM
Blue Skies (Jacquie)
It's about time

You're not doing anything wrong, they are both tricky objects.

With the Rosette, the size is HUGE - it takes up a large area of the sky. In my 8" f/6 with a 25mm ep I can only see a quarter of it at a time, and then it is very faint and hard to detect. So low power for this one, or as wide a field as you can go and dont expect to see a circle, more an arc of nebulosity.

I can't help you with the Cone, I've never gone for it from memory (or maybe I have, and was unsuccessful and just don't remember...) but it might be smaller than you think...? Nope, don't know, we need someone else to anser there.
Old 01-12-2008, 09:36 AM
bmitchell82 (Brendan)
Newtonian power! Love it!

If i can add one thing in, your eyes arnt that sensitive. and depending on if you have light pollution! other than that i think Jaq has covered it! Keep going and let us know how you went.

One more thing is do you keep observing records, theres a handy dandy little template on here so you know what you tried for and what you didn't, what was successful and what wasn't!