Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 15-07-2022, 04:54 PM
meltaxa (Dennis)

Your worst experience

In my attempts to progress as a beginner, I've had a few stumbles. I try to note these down to ensure it doesn't happen again. Here are a few examples, which all seem obvious but the mistake was still made:
  • Drive to a star party and forgot my mount! I now have a checklist before leaving home.
  • The cam drops to the ground as the telescope skews. I have to double check all screws are tighten.
  • Blame the equipment when it was all user errors. During first light, I could not obtain focus as the scope was very jumpy upon the slightest touch. I've since bought an electronic focuser to reduce touching the scope.
  • Take over 30mins to PA. I still struggle with this, but am improving.
  • Dew. I had to use an iron to combat it ever so delicately. I now have a dew heater band and a shield on it's way.

I could think of worst things to happen, like knocking over the scope. *touchwood*.

What are your horror stories? Hopefully I can learn from them.
Old 15-07-2022, 07:02 PM
Crater101 (Warren)
Mostly Harmless

Polar alignment is still something that, every now and then, I can't quite get right, despite having been a visual observer for many years. I get it right first go 98% of the time. The other 2% is a fiddly mess.

On one occasion I forgot to ensure the clutches on the mount were tightened when I put the scope on prior to balancing. The mount rotated sharply and I was able to grab the scope just before it rotated around and crashed into the mount.

I don't have a list, but I have a set procedure I follow in setting up and in breaking down the scope and mount. I do things in the same order every time, and I don't move on to the next step until I"m sure the current one is finished and done with (and everything where it should be).
Old 15-07-2022, 09:57 PM
m11 (Mel)