Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-04-2006, 01:01 AM
Dirk

Question First telescope purchase new and green

Hello,
I'm new to astronomy but keen to learn I've always been facinated in the stars. I've been thinking about buying a telescope for while and I've been looking at the Meade lx200gps 10".
After reading Brian's "General Principles for Choosing your first Telescope" I'm a little put off this telescope. I thought this might be a good starting point as I like the idea of hooking up a cammera and using my laptop to build images. The go to funtions really appeals as I have no idea how to read a sky chart.
Something else in the artical that put me off astronomy is what you see throught the eye pice apart from planets, all you can see are grey blobs? The only way you see galaxy's is to photograph them?
Any help would be greatfully recived

Last edited by Dirk; 05-04-2006 at 01:27 AM. Reason: ?
Old 05-04-2006, 07:29 AM
Miaplacidus (Brian)
He used to cut the grass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk
Hello,
I'm new to astronomy but keen to learn I've always been facinated in the stars. I've been thinking about buying a telescope for while and I've been looking at the Meade lx200gps 10".
After reading Brian's "General Principles for Choosing your first Telescope" I'm a little put off this telescope. I thought this might be a good starting point as I like the idea of hooking up a cammera and using my laptop to build images. The go to funtions really appeals as I have no idea how to read a sky chart.
Something else in the artical that put me off astronomy is what you see throught the eye pice apart from planets, all you can see are grey blobs? The only way you see galaxy's is to photograph them?
Any help would be greatfully recived

Hi Dirk, welcome to the madness. Don't ask what I'm doing up so early.