ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
84.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
11:02 am
Perth
9:02 am
Auckland
1:02 pm
New York*
9:02 pm
Paris*
3:02 am
GMT
1:02 am




  #1  
Old 06-01-2018, 08:05 PM
Mickoid (Michael)
Registered User

Mickoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 402
Mystic Moon

After a short session of astrophotography through the telescope last night ended when the moon started to rise, I turned off the mount and swung the scope toward it. I shot a few pics while the camera was still attached. High cloud created a mystical scene.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Moonrise5.1.17.jpg)
216.0 KB132 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2018, 12:05 AM
Deep (Craig)
Registered User

Deep is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 18
Nice Shot
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2018, 12:55 PM
mynameiscd's Avatar
mynameiscd (Andy)
Registered User

mynameiscd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Langkoop, Victoria
Posts: 82
Great shot,
I was going to shoot the same but I was halfway doing darks and flats. By the time I was finished the moon had risen above the clouds and horizon and i missed the opportunity.
At least you got the best pic of the night !!
Cheers
Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2018, 08:21 PM
Mickoid (Michael)
Registered User

Mickoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 402
Thanks Craig and Andy. It's always disappointing to see the moon end a nice dark sky so I thought why not turn foe into friend and take advantage of its appearance. Mind you, it's the worst place to photograph a celestial object if you want it sharp and clear. That low on the horizon will never render much clarity. However, in this case, I don't mind the softness it produced.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2018, 09:10 AM
Ross G
Registered User

Ross G is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cherrybrook, NSW
Posts: 4,899
Beautiful photo Michael.

A ghostly mood!

Ross.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2018, 09:54 PM
bigjoe (Joe)
Registered User

bigjoe is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickoid View Post
After a short session of astrophotography through the telescope last night ended when the moon started to rise, I turned off the mount and swung the scope toward it. I shot a few pics while the camera was still attached. High cloud created a mystical scene.
Lovely.

Dont know why; I thought of Eerie scenes from old Edgar Allen Poe type movies.. The Haunted Castle etc, with Vincent Price..certainly evoces that mood to me.
bigjoe.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2018, 11:29 AM
Mickoid (Michael)
Registered User

Mickoid is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 402
Thanks Ross and Joe, it does have that 'spooky' look. Probably provoked by those dead branches in the foreground ( which, incidentally, were a few kilometres away) giving the impression of ghostly arms reaching up from the grave.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-01-2018, 12:04 AM
LostInSp_ce's Avatar
LostInSp_ce
Registered User

LostInSp_ce is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 250
Great shot Michael. Very cinematic.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-01-2018, 10:13 PM
Wavytone
BigBanger

Wavytone is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 2,947
Hmm... we should ask Mike to add an optional soundtrack to play with images when opened.

Should have saved this for Halloween... /cue wolves howling...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement