#1  
Old 07-12-2008, 08:46 PM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
Cleaning Dust from CCD

How does one get rid (safely) of that annoying dust which causes dark spots on images. I know how to remove them with the banaid tool in PS7 but I want to clear my CCD

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2008, 09:43 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,779
Arctic Butterfly....AArrrrgggghhhh (ala Homer J Simpson )


I gather the dust is on your Pentax Trevor? Have you tried taking flats?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2008, 09:52 PM
darrellx's Avatar
darrellx (Darrell)
Registered User

darrellx is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Posts: 278
Trevor
Recently, I went through all this heartache with my DMK21. In the end I seem to have got a solution that works well.

I got a small bottle of "Optik Cleaner" from my local astro store, for cleaning lenses and ccds. With it, came a small cleaning cloth, the type you would expect to clean a pair of glasses.

I then use a cotton bud (the ones people use to clean their ears). I wrap or pull the cleaning cloth over one end of the cotton bud, and put two sprays of the cleaning fluid on it. Then do two wipes in the same direction across the CCD.

Before I do this, I take a few flat frames with a white tshirt across the scope. After I have done a clean, I take another flat and compare. Sometimes, I get it right the first time. Sometimes I have to do another clean. I haven't had to do it more than twice so far.

This is all relatively easy with the dmk because the opening is quite large (relatively speaking) so the ccd is easy to get at.

Hope this helps.
Darrell
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2008, 11:15 PM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
Yes it on the Pentax

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2008, 04:44 PM
asterisk's Avatar
asterisk (Geoff)
Registered User

asterisk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ruse, Australia
Posts: 232
You could try this?

http://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/prod4148.htm

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2008, 05:31 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,750
At chemists, I found the rubber bubble (I believe they are used for enema :-) ) white thing, 5-6cm dia, with 6cm long nozzle.
It is great for gently blowing air over sensor, and I think it costs $5
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (air_pump.jpg)
16.9 KB2 views
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:50 PM
TrevorW
Registered User

TrevorW is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,995
Bojan I've heard using one of these hand blowers which I have by the way can cause more dust than solve the problem and I tend to think they may be right as when I've used it on my EP's all it seems to do is move the dust around.

Thanks anyhow
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2008, 08:55 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,779
Trust me ...once you've used an Arctic Butterfly you will never want to use anything else. If you can't trust me....then surely you would trust.....h0ughy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement