Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2019, 11:02 PM
LukeM104 (Luke)
Registered User

LukeM104 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2
DSS won't register stars

Hey All,




I'm a beginner astrophotographer and I managed to get some nice frames last night. (22 1 minute exposures on the Magellanic clouds)


I tried to register the checked frames to only find out DSS would not register any stars at all. Not even when I put the threshold to 98%.


Has anyone experienced this problem? I'm using a Nikon D3400 that took the frames in RAW.


(Sorry if this is in the wrong thread)



Thanks Luke
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2019, 12:11 AM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 1,245
Welcome to IIS Luke,

If you can't get DSS to register the stars, you could be out of focus and DSS thinks your stars are extended objects, like nebula or planets.
Just open one image and see what your stars look like that should give you a hint as to whether focus is an issue.

EDIT: As you imaging the Magellanic clouds, the stars in those galaxies may be too small for DSS to recognise, unless you also have some closer Milky Way stars in the image.

DSS needs a minimum of 7 stars to perform its star alignment.

Cheers
Bill

Last edited by billdan; 03-06-2019 at 12:24 AM. Reason: More info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2019, 09:13 AM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is online now
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,102
As odd as this may sound I put the threshold of my carina nebula image to 2% as it would not register any stars at anything higher, that sorted it out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2019, 10:59 PM
LukeM104 (Luke)
Registered User

LukeM104 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2
Hey Everyone,


I had solved the problem myself.


Turns out because my files were Nikon RAW i had to go into FITS settings and tell DSS that i was using RAW files. Was a pretty dumb problem.


I hope this helps someone who ran into the same problem as me.


http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/[...om/33coxgx.jpg[/IMG]
Thanks to everyone who helped.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2019, 11:14 PM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is online now
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,102
this is the link you were trying to past
http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=33co...9#.XP0GIHtS_OY
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement