#1  
Old 31-01-2012, 06:55 PM
whzzz28's Avatar
whzzz28 (Nathan)
Registered User

whzzz28 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 341
Canon 1100d broken images after mod

I just finished modding my Canon 1100d (Thanks Gary Honis for the instructions!). With my mod i removed the second low pass filter and kept the first filter. According to reports the first filter is just as good as a Baader IR/UV filter so there is no need to replace the second filter, just remove it.

Everything went well, camera is back together and there were no errors on start up.

I went and did some test snaps outside at random items (with autofocus on). Everything looked great through the view finder and the preview pic on the 3" screen was fine as well (looked reddish, as expected from removing the filter).

I took the camera inside and put the photos onto my PC. Some photos though look "broken" at random areas. Some are prefectly fine.

For example, here are two broken images.
http://core-au.net/astro/IMG_0018.JPG
http://core-au.net/astro/IMG_0020.JPG

And here is an image i took directly before the second picture above;
http://core-au.net/astro/IMG_0019.JPG

Any thoughts on what might be causing this?
I am thinking a ribbon cable, although i thought i had seated each perfectly. Maybe there is some junk on one.

This only appears to affect files saved to the SD card, preview pictures on the camera's screen after taking a photo and photos taken via a PC (usb cable) all appear fine so i don't believe it is sensor related (phew).

Cheers,
Nathan.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-01-2012, 11:55 PM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
I've had issues like this (not exactly, but similar) with a dud SD card, have you tried a fresh one?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2012, 03:59 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 1,056
Or reformat your SD card in the camera.
I ahd issues with an SD card formatted in the computer and the 40d did not recognize it. I reformatted it in-camera and now it works fine on both (and my Samsung Galaxy as well).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-02-2012, 07:56 PM
whzzz28's Avatar
whzzz28 (Nathan)
Registered User

whzzz28 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 341
Determined the fault was not the camera, nor the SD card.
Cheap Chinese SD card reader was to blame.
Bought a new one and having no problems now.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:25 PM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,348
I bet you were glad it wasnt the camera. good to see the mod worked...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2012, 10:42 PM
whzzz28's Avatar
whzzz28 (Nathan)
Registered User

whzzz28 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astroman View Post
I bet you were glad it wasnt the camera. good to see the mod worked...
Certainly am glad it was not the camera and to be honest i was expecting the mod to be a bit more difficult. Was actually fairly straight forward, just takes time and patience.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement