ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
90.4%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
12:22 pm
Perth
10:22 am
Auckland
2:22 pm
New York*
10:22 pm
Paris*
4:22 am
GMT
2:22 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Terrestrial Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 05-04-2018, 07:17 AM
Photo Challenge's Avatar
Photo Challenge
Photo Challenge Moderator

Photo Challenge is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 874
April Photo Challenge - Comments & Notable Rejects

This is the thread for any comments that you would like to make about any of the submissions in this month's Photo Challenge.

Additionally, if you have any shots that you have taken on the subject, but didn't quite "make the cut", you can share them on this thread too.

This month's theme is "Metal"

NB:
Just to let you know, in the next two months I will be travelling in the outback, often with limited coverage. So bare with me and be patient if I am a bit late administering this challenge.

Last edited by Photo Challenge; 05-04-2018 at 07:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2018, 07:06 PM
Regulus's Avatar
Regulus (Trevor)
Regulus - Couer de Leon

Regulus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Devonport, Tasmania
Posts: 2,228
Metal Blues

Love 'old metal' that's well loved.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.42.34.jpg)
129.0 KB5 views
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.42.27.jpg)
71.8 KB5 views
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.42.42.jpg)
85.7 KB6 views
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.41.58.jpg)
116.5 KB3 views
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.41.47.jpg)
149.4 KB7 views
Click for full-size image (2018-02-27 12.42.50.jpg)
114.0 KB6 views
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-04-2018, 12:44 AM
astronobob's Avatar
astronobob (Bob)
Casual Cosmos Capturer

astronobob is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Gold Coast SE QLD
Posts: 3,492
Scrounged for 'practical' subjects out at horse paddocks, was bored with horse going round & round
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Wwz_IIS51_0239.jpg)
120.2 KB7 views
Click for full-size image (W91_0264W1.jpg)
47.1 KB6 views
Click for full-size image (W40_0238.jpg)
51.6 KB6 views
Click for full-size image (W71_0244.jpg)
84.2 KB5 views
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-04-2018, 08:53 PM
sheeny's Avatar
sheeny (Al)
Spam Hunter

sheeny is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oberon NSW
Posts: 12,009
Damascus Gear

Corrosion on the gear on the end of the camshaft on a wrecked motor in Datchet Downs Station in outback Queensland.

The pinion gear at the bottom left of frame is on the crankshaft and this gear drove the cam shaft in this old pushrod engine. From the corrosion patterns on this gear resembling Damascus Steel, it is evident it was forged. Couldn't imaging forging that today. I would expect it to be machined from billet.

Al.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (P6127645cweb.jpg)
191.8 KB5 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement