#1  
Old 02-06-2019, 03:43 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 678
Windows 10

I can see a lot of members here are using Windows 10 when astroimaging and guiding, so I can assume all is well and its safe to switch over from Windows 7? Are there any compatibility issues I need to know regarding Ascom and eqmod if I do make the switch?

Many thanks in advance.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2019, 05:11 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,125
I use both win7 and win10. no problem with ascom, gemini, nebulosity, phd, etc... all drivers for cameras, mount, usb hub. don't know about eqmod.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2019, 05:53 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,345
Paul
I have been using Windows 10 home for nearly a year now on my dedicated Astro Laptop which never gets connected to the internet ( I only connect on line to download new software which is rare ) files are transferred / copied only by USB stick
I run EQMOD with StellariumScope and Stellarium for telescope control of both my HEQ5 and EQ6-R mounts (Goto and tracking )
I run BYEOS for frame, focus and capture
And finally PHD2 for guiding
The best way to connect your mount for EQMOD ( Synta mounts only ) and PHD2 is via a USB2 EQdirect cable - USB2EQ5 ( recommended by EQMOD and PHD2 )
The Shoestring Astronomy site has a list of drivers for the FTDI chip which need to be downloaded for the EQ direct cable for use with Windows 10
My set up operating on Windows 10 has been working flawlessly for nearly a year
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2019, 06:14 PM
AstroJunk's Avatar
AstroJunk (Jonathan)
Shadow Chaser

AstroJunk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,675
Zero problems with win 10 and eqmod etc.

My only tip is to set your network connection to 'metered' and manually and regularly run your updates. MS has decided (and as an IT pro I agree) that most users are too complacent about security/update patching, and will do it for you whether you like it or not. They cleverly wait until the computer is sitting idle then do the updates. Unfortunately for Astronomers, long imaging runs look identical to the 'doing nothing' profile

By setting the connection to metered, your updates will be deferred for a few weeks and shouldn't interrupt you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2019, 05:23 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 678
Many thanks to all for your feed back, puts my mind at ease, bought the PC off ebay originally, i5 4 Gen with 8gb ram and preloaded with Windows 10 on a 500gb hd, so I swapped hard drives and loaded Windows 7, still have Windows nice and safe ready for use.

Many thanks again.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2019, 06:24 PM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 1,153
why would you be concerned you can always roll back to 7 if you don't like 10 ??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OP3dTF1dEFQ

https://www.pcworld.com/article/3074...0-upgrade.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2019, 08:16 PM
astro744
Registered User

astro744 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 802
Windows 7 is officially retired with no further security updates from Microsoft early next year. No problem if you have a standalone setup not connected to the web otherwise you would be advised to upgrade to 10.

When Windiws 10 was first offered for free I tried it and liked it until I installed my HP colour MFP which worked fine except for the scan function (poor quality scans from Windows and inability to scan to PC from the MFP via buttons on the MFP). I had a similar problem getting my Plustek slide scanner to work although I did eventually fool 10 somehow. Acrobat X too would not install.

Anyway I went back to 7 Pro as I think it is one of the best Windows versions ever produced. When I found it would be no longer supported next year I tried 10 again but this time as an upgrade and not a clean install, something which I always was a against always favouring a clean install. To my surprise everything that worked under 7 works just as well under 10 including my MFP and slide scanner as well as Acrobat X.

I have been using Windows 10 Pro for a few months now and it works fine and I have had no issues with it. I don't have any Astro cameras connected to this platform so cannot comment on that.

When you do an upgrade your Windows 7 installation is saved for a short while and you do have the option to rollback but there is a time limit, I think 30 days. If you like 10 you can delete the 7 files to save disk space before the 30 days are up but then if you want to go back you need to do a clean install of 7.

If your computer is to be connected to the Internet then I recommend you make the switch to 10 otherwise you will not get any security updates. Install as an upgrade from within Windows and not as a clean install. This way you will not have to look for and load any driver later for any devices you have. Just follow the instructions during the install.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2019, 09:37 AM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 1,970
With one of the more recent updates you can set "Active hours" and it supposedly wont automatically reboot during that time. You can set up to an 18 hour window for the active hours, so my imaging rig has active hours set up starting at about 4 PM and running through to 10 AM. I have not seen it auto reboot since I did that, it has though given the "Update and shut down" option a number of times.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2019, 08:20 PM
Eacert (Adam)
Registered User

Eacert is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeb61 View Post
I can assume all is well and its safe to switch over from Windows 7?
Many thanks in advance.
Paul
I don't think so that,once you fail the computer can be a trouble for you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-06-2019, 05:40 PM
Spock (Michael)
Registered User

Spock is offline
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Whitlands
Posts: 3
Jumping off learning cliff

Iím trying to start searching for the right PC (and video card, etc) to write a C++ program to control EQ8 mount via ASCOM, but Iíve yet to learn existing controllers; only the hand controller. Iíve written several Windows programs and loved astrophysics, but am an observational beginner.
Also Iíve only observed with eyepieces, so astrophotography will be a nice extra learning cliff. For now Iíd like more insight in deciding on a Win10 PC, which Iíve been able to avoid owning for decades! Iím yet to learn Astro Lab etc.
Any advice appreciated, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18-06-2019, 06:04 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,345
For astrophotography, EQMOD works fine on windows 10 with both my HEQ5 and EQ6-R mounts. I use Stellarium for my planetarium via StellariumScope as the interface with control via the keyboard and no issues with Goto and tracking after nearly a year. Very accurate system to find objects ready for frame , focus and capture with any capture software
If you look on the EQMOD site the EQ8 mount is listed and compatible
Main issues with EQMOD connectivity is mostly drivers and dodgy cables
I love my AP system itís works flawlessly
My laptop is a beast though , an Omen 15.6Ē i7 32GB ram 1TB etc..I use to do everything in AP
Donít know if the above helps you ??
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-06-2019, 02:08 PM
peeb61's Avatar
peeb61 (Paul)
Always looking up

peeb61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 678
Well I made the switch and its Win10, the only issues I ended up having was connection issues with the mount using the Prolific driver but thanks to Martin, this cable has been ditched and I am now using the Shoestring cable and all is good!
Many thanks to one and all for your messages, it certainly helped.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23-06-2019, 02:17 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,345
Glad your connected now
The EQ direct method is the best way to connect ( recommended by the EQMOD Project )
Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement