ICEINSPACE
Member Login
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
29.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
6:37 am
Perth
4:37 am
Auckland*
9:37 am
New York*
4:37 pm
Paris*
10:37 pm
GMT
8:37 pm




The Brightest Stars
Submitted: Monday, 13th July 2009 by Sean Liddelow
image001.jpg

Click to Enlarge
"The Brightest Stars" by Fred Schaaf. Published by Wiley.

Yesterday I went to a Borders bookshop in Perth, Western Australia and a purchased a copy of The Brightest Stars by Fred Schaaf. It cost me AU$30.99 and it is a really good book. It contains information on the 20 brightest stars.

Features

  • Chapters on the 20 brightest stars that contains detailed information about their movement across the heavens.
  • Chapters on the names, magnitudes, movements, structure, distances, and life and death of stars.
  • Explains ‘Seeing stars better’ which includes averted vision, information about transparency and light pollution.
  • Tables in the back of the book that includes information on colour, spectral type, surface temperature, apparent and absolute magnitude, distance, position, culminations, motions, diameter and masses for each of the 20 brightest stars.
  • Detailed star lore on each star.

Pros

  • Written by an author of Sky and Telescope who has also written 12 other astronomy books.
  • Detailed information on each star.
  • Illustrations that show the stars size comparative to Earth.
  • Very informative for low price.

Cons

  • May be hard on newcomers to Astronomy.
  • Some stars have less information than other stars.
  • Star charts for northern users.

Review by Sean Liddelow (seanliddelow). Discuss this review on the IceInSpace Forum.

Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement
ICEINSPACE
AUSTRALIAN AMATEUR ASTRONOMY
Copyright © 2004-2017 ICEINSPACE.
All rights reserved.