Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 15-06-2009, 07:09 PM
Maplesyrup (Josh)

How Do you find objecst with Altazi?

With Altazimath mounts, is there an accurate finding of objects? Like with a equatorial mount you can use declinations and such, what do you do to find objects you cannot see?
Also can they track?
Old 15-06-2009, 08:11 PM
Maplesyrup (Josh)

am I being an idiot?
Old 15-06-2009, 08:21 PM
duncan
Duncan

Hi,
No you are not. Sometimes it takes a while for people to find and reply to a post. As for me i'm new at this as well so can't really help
Cheers
Old 15-06-2009, 08:27 PM
jjjnettie (Jeanette)

I've got 2 Alt Azi mounts, both are goto. So when I want to find something, I just press a few buttons on the controller, and it goes to it. Yes, they both track too.
I have the iOptron Cube and the iOptron Mini Tower.

Last edited by jjjnettie; 15-06-2009 at 08:51 PM.
Old 15-06-2009, 08:30 PM
Wavytone

I use starhopping on my altaz mount - from a map. I have the Orion SkyView and for casual observing at low to medium power its fine. As for a map I use StarMap Pro on my iPhone, or Sky Atlas.

Some mounts - "push to" - have digital setting circles (Argo Navis or Sky Commander, you decide what you want to look at and the controller tells you which way to go to get there - you push the scope.

And yes there are "goto" altaz mounts like the iOptron Cube and the latest one-arm fork Celestron has with a C6 on it; Skywatcher is also selling a small one arm fork with a 90mm Maksutov on it (rather small).

Most of these require calibration using the two star method to achieve accurate "goto"s.

Personally I think it is worth taking the effort to star-hop from a map for two reasons:

a) you will learn your way round the constellations. I am constantly disappointed by people who are so used to goto scopes they have no idea where anything us, or what else is nearby.