Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 17-12-2007, 08:49 AM
SteveCav (Steve)

What should I be able to see with a 102 Refractor

Hi guys and girls
I am new to astromony and have been viewing the Forum quite a bit. What an amazing source of knowlegde and information.

I have a Skywatcher 102mm Refractor with a PL10 (50x) and PL25 (20x) eyepiece, an 8-24 Zoom Eyepiece, Prism Star diagonal and a SWLET5 eyepiece as well as a 2x Barlow and moon filter.

My question is with this equipment what sort of astro viewing and details can I expect, like for instance Mars. I tried on Saturday night at 11pm and I just could not get any detail just a blur.

I suspect it maybe my lack of experience, but I am just curious as to what I should be able to expect from the equipment I have.

Thanks
Old 17-12-2007, 04:12 PM
ngcles
The Observologist

What can I expect?

Hi Steve,

You are not the first to ask a question like this and I suspect you will be far from the last!

A 4" refractor is a fine telescope and it can show you a great deal in the night sky. In _perfect conditions_ it will show stars as faint as mag 13 hundreds of double stars and open clusters, dozens of globular clusters and a good view of several dozen galaxies -- hundreds more galaxies as tiny dim patches of fuzz.

The strong suit for an instrument like this will be lunar and planetary observing and in _perfect conditions_ you can expect to see a good amount of detail on Mars and detail on the moon as small as about 2km diameter.