Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 17-05-2005, 08:22 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
Motorised Focuser

Hey guys.

On the weekend I finally got around to installing the motorised focuser that Laurie (RAJAH) kindly made for me (thanks Loz!).

My dad was visiting for the weekend, so I took advantage of his engineering and DIY expertise to help me fit the motor to the scope.

The bracket is made from a piece of termite capping (galvanised steel), as that's all we could find at the hardware store The bracket fits onto 2 existing holes of the moonlite base, so no extra drilling into the OTA was required. A slot was cut out of the steel for the servo motor and screwed in place. The controller box with the variable speed knob, on/off switch and focus in/out control is simply velcroed to the OTA.

The only thing I haven't done yet is Laurie's "belt keeper" idea, to ensure the O-ring isn't lost on the ground should it fall off.

The O-ring connects the servo motor to the fine focus knob of my CR2, and turns it ever so smoothly. Meaning I don't have to touch the focus knob at high powers and there'll be no image shaking and shifting. This will be especially helpful for imaging.

It works, though I haven't given it a first light yet thanks to clouds.

Here's some pics from a few different angles.









Will report back once it's had first light!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-05-2005, 08:55 AM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,079
Thats pretty cool Ice.

The IIS sparky is pretty handy hey
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-05-2005, 11:53 AM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
well "Loz" sent me one too... works great btw laurie!
didnt take any pics tho.
I didnt want to drill any hole in my OTA or anything so i attached it to the botom of my focuser...
the bracket I made out of an old PC case.

I had a chance to use it for the first time last night with my el-cheapo web cam on the moon and its smooth as!
NO MORE SHAKING!!!!


you the funny thing about the motorised focuser........ nah I wont go there.

fangs Laurie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-05-2005, 12:47 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
Where are the pics vingmeister?

Of both the focuser AND the moon shot?? huh let's see 'em!

ving where did you find a suitable O-ring? How big is yours?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-05-2005, 01:11 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
Moderator

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 33,142
great job. You should patent the pink hairband idea

does the band wander over the knurled part and slip off?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-05-2005, 01:17 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
heh, Eliza's pink hairband was my O-ring before I got a proper one How it's positioned over the finder is my "belt keeper" for now

No, the band doesn't move. There's a groove between the textured part of the knob and the smooth part, and the band sits nicely in there and behaves itself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:14 PM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
Quote:
Originally posted by iceman
Where are the pics vingmeister?

Of both the focuser AND the moon shot?? huh let's see 'em!

ving where did you find a suitable O-ring? How big is yours?
my o-ring is not as big as yours

there is only about a 2cm gap between focuser knob and motor spinny thing (sorry bout the technical term) so a small thick lo-stretch o-ring did wonders.

the battery in my laptop needs replacing. as I was setting up for a shot the battery went phut on me.

my webcam is actually one of those really old dolphin digicam/webcam jobs with the lens taken out...

is there a way of getting a wider FOV with a webcam?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:19 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,079
What focuser have you got Ving?
Wondering how they work with the gs focusers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:24 PM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
I have a 2" gs focuser slice...

you want one? talk to Laurie now!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:31 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,079
I might have to Ving.
Poor Laurie wont get a chance to do any viewing.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:34 PM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
I'll get some pics posted soonish showing my bodgey job

its not very neat, but its functional. I could and probably will end up doing a much neater job of it but this will do for now.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:45 PM
atalas's Avatar
atalas
Registered User

atalas is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 5,134
Yes very nice job I must say,green and gold too Australian made.


Louie
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17-05-2005, 02:47 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
haha yeh I thought I had some black electrical tape but couldn't find it :cry:

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-05-2005, 11:32 PM
RAJAH235's Avatar
RAJAH235
A very 'Senior' member.

RAJAH235 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Coast N.S.W.
Posts: 2,567
Hiya all, Thanks for the kind words, Mike & David. I thought you might like them. As you said, there's no shake now at high mags. + you can get the focus spot on.
The 'O' rings/drive belts are available from any Bearing supply Co. Cheaper by the 10 pack.
Mike, that installation looks great. Nice to have an engineer around at times. David, where are your pics?
Glad to be of help. Regards, L.

Last edited by RAJAH235; 17-05-2005 at 11:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-05-2005, 05:35 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
Thanks Loz, i'll try and find some better O-rings this weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-05-2005, 08:00 AM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
er... the pic?

they are over there!---->

*hides*
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19-05-2005, 10:11 AM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
here yas go... like I said, not tidy but still functional.
click thubnail for larger pic.

http://photobucket.com/albums/v46/vi...h_dob/th_3.jpg
http://photobucket.com/albums/v46/vi...h_dob/th_2.jpg
http://photobucket.com/albums/v46/vi...h_dob/th_1.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19-05-2005, 10:17 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,755
Good work David! How do you find it, in practise?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19-05-2005, 10:26 AM
ving's Avatar
ving (David)
~Dust bunny breeder~

ving is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The town of campbells
Posts: 12,359
I havent had much chance to view yet mike. last night I took the laptop out with the webcam and mucked around with the moon. focusing was great with no wobbles. then I tried some viewing with the webcam barlowed... smooth.

umm... mike, I dont seem to have settings such as "gain" on my k3ccd....
and why is it that when i viewed jupiter it was just a big blob surrounded by 4 small blobs... (ei no detail at all on the surface of the planet)?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19-05-2005, 10:33 AM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,079
How 'fine' is the focusing Ving?

BTW I like your method of posting the thumbnails, easy to see the overall pic and the enlargement gives good detail.Nice one
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement