Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 30-11-2004, 12:38 PM
Smokey

A beginners beginning

Hi all.
I thought I,d introduce myself and give a quick run-down of my start into the world of astronomy.
My official welcome into astronomy began just over a week ago, so I am a total Newbie.
I have always had a mild interest in astronomy, but never enough to go out and purchase a telescope. That was untill about 12months ago, when a friend got a telescope for his 40th birthday. He showed me a couple of stars, and I thought "yeah....pretty"...but that was about it. After about an hour or so, he found Saturn. One look and I was hooked.
After a bit of research and sweet-talking the other half, I was able to order a GSO 10" Dob from Andrews as a combined 40th birthday and Xmas present. For $900 I got the 10" Dob, 4 EPs (6.5, 9, 15, 25mm), 4 filters(moon, 2 blue, violet), a small planisphere, and a set of 10x25 compact Binos.
Am I happy? You Bet.
I,ll give you a quick run-down of my first week with my scope.

Continued next message.
Old 30-11-2004, 01:02 PM
Smokey

I received my scope Mon 23rd after ordering it on the 18th. I was pleased with the service I received from Andrews, although they always seemed to be rushed when I spoke on the phone with them.
After spending the Mon afternoon putting the scope together, I sat and waited for the night to arrive. Night arrived and as per Murphys law of astronomy, so did the clouds. I gave up going out to check the sky about 1:00am.
Roll on Tuesday night. ......Tues night comes and I managed to get about 20 minutes before the clouds rolled in again. All I was able to do was align the finder, first on the moon, then Canopus.
Wed night....My first real chance to do any observing. One of the first things I found was The Orion Nebula. I was awe struck. I have since gone back to it every night I have managed to get out. Other things I have seen so far are......