Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 18-01-2015, 04:38 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
EQ5 mount modified to dual Alt Az/Equatorial

I got my first telescope (ED100) and EQ5 mount last week and have seen some amazing views already. However not being able to use it in Alt Azimuth mode was frustrating during the day when there are terrestrial sights to be had.

Surprisingly I couldn't find any online tutorials on converting it to dual mode - does anyone know of a link they can share?

Anyway it turned out to be rather simple: all u need is a file, a spanner and a flathead screwdriver. There's a hard altitude adjustment stop that prevents the RA axis from reaching 90 degrees (vertical). Filing off 2 mm of the stop circumvented the design limitation.

Now the mount can be used in Alt Az mode (the counter weight points horizontally), and converts back to equatorial mode just by reinstalling the altitude adjustment screw.

can take photos if anyone is interested?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-01-2015, 07:57 PM
DarkArts
Registered User

DarkArts is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 606
Photos? Sure, could be useful. Sounds like a good mod.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-01-2015, 06:04 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
Certainly:

Image 1: mount in Alt Az mode
Image 2: the hard stop has been filed down by 2mm
Image 3: 1mm spacers that help align the RA axis to 90degrees
Image 4: mount back in equatorial mode after reinstalling the altitude adjustment screws
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_3072.jpg)
193.8 KB564 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_3073.jpg)
185.8 KB467 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_3074.jpg)
181.0 KB476 views
Click for full-size image (IMG_3075.jpg)
192.0 KB455 views
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-01-2015, 03:21 PM
netwolf's Avatar
netwolf
Registered User

netwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,943
Kim how stable is it in Alt/Az and EQ mode post modification?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-01-2015, 08:18 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
very. certainly i will not need another az mount.

it'll work in all directions without flopping back, since the centre of mass is not on the fulcrum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-01-2015, 10:02 PM
Regulus's Avatar
Regulus (Trevor)
Regulus - Couer de Leon

Regulus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Devonport, Tasmania
Posts: 2,350
Well done Kim.
Omegacrux (David) did the same mod with an eq5 some years ago but never posted it. I have since acquired his eq5 head and converted it to a permanent Alt-Az, as can be seen below.
They are very nice to use in an Alt-Az configuration, and don't struggle and slip to gain altitude past 45deg like the Skywatcher Alt-Az does with an ED80.

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=125165

Trevor
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-01-2015, 10:57 AM
netwolf's Avatar
netwolf
Registered User

netwolf is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,943
Could the Eq5 got kit motors still be added for Alt/az goto? Also would this handle a long 5" refractor for visual/planetary use?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-01-2015, 03:15 PM
omegacrux's Avatar
omegacrux (David)
Registered User

omegacrux is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ulverstone Tas
Posts: 733
That mount Trev mentioned I had a SW150x750 acro on it all up 7.5kg easy

David
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-01-2015, 05:56 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
thanks trevor

yesterday i found you can screw the little rectangular bar back on as a safeguard against the mount falling back, works really well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_3080.jpg)
182.5 KB312 views
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-01-2015, 04:48 PM
gb_astro
Registered User

gb_astro is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimmik View Post
thanks trevor

yesterday i found you can screw the little rectangular bar back on as a safeguard against the mount falling back, works really well.
Kim how are you fine pointing the scope on this mount at higher magnifications?
With just the original slow motion knobs?

Thanks,
gb.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28-01-2015, 05:30 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
yeah they still work well.

the RA knob can be attached on either side.

the Dec knob is fine if attached on the higher side. if you attach it on the lower side you can look at half the celestial hemisphere, but clashes with the mount for the other half.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-01-2015, 07:02 PM
gb_astro
Registered User

gb_astro is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimmik View Post
yeah they still work well.

the RA knob can be attached on either side.

the Dec knob is fine if attached on the higher side. if you attach it on the lower side you can look at half the celestial hemisphere, but clashes with the mount for the other half.
Thanks Kim.

A question about the RA/Dec locks.
Can these be applied progressively so you could push the scope around by hand with just enough drag applied?
Or are they either on or off?

gb.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28-01-2015, 07:15 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
yeah the eq5 lock uses a graduated friction lock rather than on/off
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28-01-2015, 07:33 PM
gb_astro
Registered User

gb_astro is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimmik View Post
yeah the eq5 lock uses a graduated friction lock rather than on/off
Ok, great.

gb.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-02-2016, 07:45 AM
AstroApprentice (Jason)
Registered User

AstroApprentice is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 349
EQ5 Alt-Az conversion

Hi Kim,
Just wondering if you are still happy with your EQ5 Alt-Az conversion and if you recommend it for an EQ5 with GOTO upgrade as the fine adjustment knobs are removed for the motors?
Thanks, J.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-02-2016, 09:57 PM
kimmik (Kim)
Registered User

kimmik is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 17
hey, yes quite happy with it, still working well and smooth. not sure about any other model but the basic manual eq5 moded easily
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21-11-2016, 01:10 PM
Ozincm (Greg)
Registered User

Ozincm is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: WA
Posts: 1
Sorry if this has already been covered but can The Alt Az mod be done on a Skywatcher HEQ5 Pro mount? I would like to hear from anyone who has performed such a modification.. thanks so much in advance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement