Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-01-2014, 06:00 PM
Quoll (Bill)

Newbie Intro

Hi everyone

I’m a newbie to the forum and a sort of newbie to astronomy, so I suppose a bit of an intro is in order before I bombard you with questions.

We had a refractor scope many years ago when my son was a wee lad (he’s in his forties now). I can’t remember the size of the scope, but it wasn’t a “department store” scope. We had a lot of fun observing the planets, which is about all I can remember, although my son remembers viewing the Orion nebula, which we viewed again recently. However as time went by our enthusiasm waned (I can still remember how bad the mozzies could be!) and my son traded the telescope for binoculars, which are long gone.

However we never lost our interest in astronomy, and my son said when his daughter was a bit older he’d like to get another scope. Well my granddaughter turned 12 just before Christmas, so we decided it was time to get that scope!

We got a Skywatcher 8” Dobsonian, and we’ve been so enthusiastic its had heaps of use already. We’ve even been up in the wee hours to see Saturn! And best of all, the mozzies aren’t as bad as I remember them!

How much easier it is these days with the internet and Stellarium to find out where objects are in the sky compared to years ago. I don’t know how we managed then. Of course, knowing where they are in the sky is no guarantee we can actually find them with the scope!

So much for my longwinded intro - my questions will be following shortly!

Cheers, Bill
Old 06-01-2014, 06:06 PM
glend (Glen)

Welcome Bill, I returned to astronomy when I retired and yes a lot has changed but most of it is for the better, the exception being more light pollution. Have fun and clear skies.
Old 06-01-2014, 07:57 PM
Quoll (Bill)

Thanks Glen
Old 06-01-2014, 08:51 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

Bill