Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 23-07-2011, 07:02 PM
jashwood (Josh)

Hello from another newbie

Hi there

I'm a newbie from Brisbane and thought I'd say hello, and ask a few questions.

I'm using a secondhand 10" collapsible dob which I bought from an ad here - it came with about a dozen eyepieces, filters, and 1.25 and 2 inch barlows.. so far it has been great. The seller was awesome and showed me around the scope at night when we met - which was fantastic. I've also learned a lot by reading posts on this forum..

So I've been observing for a while and have got a few questions....

This dew thing... how long roughly will a dew shield keep dew off the secondary on a really wet night? I'm wondering if a heat source is worth looking at or whether a dew shield is enough - having to travel out of town to dark skies it would be great to know it can be kept out one way or the other.

Was also wondering, how good are the high end eyepieces like the televiews... They're expensive - but are they worth it?

Cheers

Josh
Old 24-07-2011, 12:40 AM
Brian W (Brian)
The Wanderer

You open a can of worms with your question about eye pieces. The question is not 'are they worth it' the question is 'are they worth it to you'?

About the only way to find out is to go to a star party or over to someone you know who has the ep's you are wondering about and try them out.

I realize that does not answer your question and that there will be others with experience as good as mine or better who can and undoubtedly will give different answers but in my opinion 'trying before buying' is always good, if not always practical, advice.
Brian
Old 24-07-2011, 10:44 PM
Blue Skies (Jacquie)
It's about time

Quote:
Originally Posted by jashwood View Post
Was also wondering, how good are the high end eyepieces like the televiews... They're expensive - but are they worth it?