Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-11-2012, 12:38 PM
Spikeplate (Stephanie)

Talking Hello, and Help. :)

Hi guys, I'm new to astronomy... I live in Tasmania and am interested in any books that can guide me through my visible sky. I don't have a telescope, but I have some cool binoculars and I guess that's good enough to start with.

I've actually read through one book by Ken Wallace and I got so excited when I noticed he actually posts here, which is pretty neat.

I'm a student, only nineteen, so I'm not going to be able to afford anything really expensive... just some starting points for me to look at, if you know what I mean.

Thanks in advance for any help... I've been lurking here for a few days now and love some of the photos I've seen... space is so wonderful.
Old 04-11-2012, 02:33 PM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

Hi Stephanie and to IIS.
A good book as a starting point is "A Walk Through the Southern Sky". I have seen it in general bookstores but it can be purchased from Bintel here
www.bintel.com.au
They also do a starter pack which has a red light torch, plansiphere and Astronomy 2013 yearbook.
A bit more detailed is Collins Stars and Planets

Malcolm

Last edited by barx1963; 04-11-2012 at 03:00 PM.
Old 04-11-2012, 03:25 PM
omegacrux (David)

Hi Stephanie
Good to see another Tasmanian on the site
Keep your eyes on the ice trade you can pick up some good value scopes there
and they are usually well looked after
That's where I have most of my purchases from and saved me probably a grand.

David
Old 04-11-2012, 04:38 PM
Suzy
Searching for Travolta...

Hi Stephanie,

Binocular observing is great fun! Many of us who own scopes still use & love our binos for the beautiful rich field view they offer. What size are they?