#1  
Old 10-11-2021, 11:00 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 198
EQm-35 Pro & USB

Been using an EQM-35 Pro for a while now, the older version without the USB (or power light) on the control box. Been using it happily with the adapter direct to the laptop no problem. But got a new one today with the USB on the box and for the life of me I cannot get it to connect using just the USB. Is there something I'm missing? Do I need to find a special driver? Does it even work that way?

Can connect to the handset port with the adapter and through the handset using pc-direct perfectly fine but the USB has me totally stumped. It's not important, I will just keep using the adapter if required, but really curious about getting the USB going.


Cheers,
Mark
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (EQ35_contoller.jpg)
196.1 KB16 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2021, 07:15 AM
JA
.....

JA is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,571
Hi Mark,

Perhaps the port has to be enabled in software or initialisation steps or the other PC port disabled or communication mode changed.

Best
JA
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2021, 08:37 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
Mark,
EQMOD supports the EQM-35 pro mount , I just checked the EQMOD website
You may be able to connect your mount direct to a laptop with a USB2A to USB2B cable ( max 5m )
Then you could use Stellarium to navigate , Goto , track , guide etc....(Iíve used EQMOD and Stellarium for years with both a HEQ5 and EQ6-R mounts )

Does your mount have a USB2B port ( printer type USB port ) ?

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2021, 09:03 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 198
Quote:
Perhaps the port has to be enabled in software or initialisation steps or the other PC port disabled or communication mode changed.

Best
JA
Maybe, but there is a definite lack of information out there about it.
Quote:
Mark,
EQMOD supports the EQM-35 pro mount , I just checked the EQMOD website
You may be able to connect your mount direct to a laptop with a USB2A to USB2B cable ( max 5m )
Then you could use Stellarium to navigate , Goto , track , guide etc....(Iíve used EQMOD and Stellarium for years with both a HEQ5 and EQ6-R mounts )

Does your mount have a USB2B port ( printer type USB port ) ?

Martin
I have no problems using it with EQMOD using either the adapter or through the handset - it has the USB2B port but I just can't get it working when using that and I can't figure out why. Not important, I may figure it out eventually.


Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2021, 09:12 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Startrek View Post
Mark,
EQMOD supports the EQM-35 pro mount , I just checked the EQMOD website
You may be able to connect your mount direct to a laptop with a USB2A to USB2B cable ( max 5m )
Then you could use Stellarium to navigate , Goto , track , guide etc....(Iíve used EQMOD and Stellarium for years with both a HEQ5 and EQ6-R mounts )

Does your mount have a USB2B port ( printer type USB port ) ?

Martin
Iíve just had a look at your mount and it looks like it doesnít have a USB connection on the motor control box , only the hand controller RJ45 port so you can remove the hand controller and replace it with an EQ Direct cable to your laptop and then control the mount from your laptop using EQMOD and your preferred planetarium or Nav software ( I use Stellarium)
I have the full procedure for EQMOD EQ Direct and Stellarium to control your mount
Let me know on all of the above
PS: You will not be using any of the Skywatcher apps or software to achieve the above method of control

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2021, 09:42 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drac0 View Post
Maybe, but there is a definite lack of information out there about it.

I have no problems using it with EQMOD using either the adapter or through the handset - it has the USB2B port but I just can't get it working when using that and I can't figure out why. Not important, I may figure it out eventually.


Cheers.
What baud rate are you using in the USB driver ?
If using a USB cable connection baud rate should be 115200
If using an EQ cable connection baud rate is 9600
Make sure you change it in device manager ( USB port ) as well as the Ascom window of EQMOD
I have 2 x EQ6-R mounts , one in Sydney ( USB2B connection) and one on the South Coast ( EQ connection with Shoestring cable ) I have to change baud rates when Iím at each site
Iíll attach my EQMOD and Stellarium procedures anyway
These replace the handcontroller ( handcontroller removed )
Cheers
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2021, 10:10 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
FYI
Attached is an article from EQMOD about using the PC Direct mode of control of Skywatcher mounts
I went EQ Direct from the beginning
Cheers
Martin
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Skywatcher Mounts EQMOD PC Direct or EQ Direct.pdf (38.2 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2021, 11:10 AM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 198
Quote:
Iíve just had a look at your mount and it looks like it doesnít have a USB connection on the motor control box
The older versions didn't have the USB, the current versions do.
Quote:
What baud rate are you using in the USB driver ?
If using a USB cable connection baud rate should be 115200
If using an EQ cable connection baud rate is 9600
Make sure you change it in device manager ( USB port ) as well as the Ascom window of EQMOD
THAT FIXED IT!!!!
Changing the baud rate in EQMOD to 115200 got it working via the USB. Never thought about needing to change it there as it worked fine at 9600 with the connection through the EQ cable connection.

Thank you very much Martin! BTW - where on the South Coast is your away from Sydney setup if you don't mind me asking? I'm in Nowra.


Thank you again!
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2021, 12:05 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drac0 View Post
The older versions didn't have the USB, the current versions do.

THAT FIXED IT!!!!
Changing the baud rate in EQMOD to 115200 got it working via the USB. Never thought about needing to change it there as it worked fine at 9600 with the connection through the EQ cable connection.

Thank you very much Martin! BTW - where on the South Coast is your away from Sydney setup if you don't mind me asking? I'm in Nowra.


Thank you again!
Mark
Mark,
Great news !!
Glad itís now connected
My retirement getaway is at Narrawallee ( Bortle 3 skies ) and really nice considerate neighbours not like in Sydney where sky is Bortle 7/8 (which I can deal with) but inconsiderate neighbours leaving their backyard flood lights and side lights and garden lights , you name it blasting my house and yard all night ( on both sides ) Why ? For the life of me I donít know. I suppose they have rights, but seriously a gross waist of energy not to mention trying to get to sleep even with your blinds down. Thereís these devices called time switches and movement sensors , been around for decades, have they heard of them ??
End of Whinging !!!!
Glad to be of help
Clear Skies
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2021, 12:50 PM
Drac0 (Mark)
Registered User

Drac0 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Nowra, NSW
Posts: 198
Narrawallee- nice, but you do need to lock yourself away during holiday season.


Take care & thanks AGAIN!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-11-2021, 01:10 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney and South Coast NSW
Posts: 4,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drac0 View Post
Narrawallee- nice, but you do need to lock yourself away during holiday season.


Take care & thanks AGAIN!
I have 5 kids and 4 grandkids that come down during school holidays and Xmas etc... so canít lock ourselves away too much
These little towns canít survive without holiday makers and visitors, all part of the deal, I never complain

Hope we get some better weather soon

All the best !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
eqm-35 pro

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement