Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 12-11-2008, 05:37 PM
Benno85 (Ben)

Help with dslr and astrophotography

Hi All,

I have an unmodded 450D, and a 900mm reflector telescope (for those that can make sens of it the model# is 114F900EQ-111A, with the word "Precision" on the tube). As you can tell I am very very new to all of this....

My question is two-fold.....when using just the camera on a tripod with shutter release cable, how can I focus on objects in the sky (eg I look at the moon through a 75-300mm lens on auto focus, and the image is very out of focus).....and secondly,what accessories will I need to use my camera through my scope (with the intention to capture multiple exposures for later processing).

Any and all all advice will be greatly received. If anyone is near Picton NSW and can lend some hands-on practical advice then you'll score even more brownie points!!

Thanks everyone,

Ben.
Old 12-11-2008, 06:38 PM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

as far as the focus is concerned you could focus at somehting very far away during the day using the AF, then switch the camera to MF before taking any more hots. the camera focus should remain at infinity (or close to) and take a test shot or two, blow it up on the lcd or download it and tweak the manual focus ring ever so slightly.

in saying that usually most cameras do an ok job of focusing on the moon, did you handhold or have on tripod.

as for the 2nd part most don't use d-slr fr shots thru a reflector - most ota's don't have the right amount of travel focus and quite often you need to move the mirror further up the tube closer to the focuser. hence most use a webcam or ccd for reflectors to take luna/planet shots
Old 12-11-2008, 06:39 PM
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Ben,