Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-05-2008, 12:35 PM
peter brown

need help planning observ. setup

I have a meade lx200gps 10" and am hoping to get a school model sirius obsevatory. I also have a skywatcher ED100 refractor on a EQ5pro mount.
I am interesed in beginning some astrophotography. Which telescope should I mount in the observatory and what height and position should I plan to position it?
Does anyone know if I need council permit to erect the observatory?
I am a very beginner and would appreciate any and all advice.
Thanks in anticipation.
Old 06-05-2008, 12:55 PM
Luke

Id go the lx200 as its bigger apature will gather lots more light, and its a bit more user friendly than the heq5 in the begining. Its also better for closer shots of most galaxies. You will need to get a wedge if you want to do exposures over 30 seconds though.
The ed 100 is perfect for wide field photgraphy and i think im right in saying that it could go ontop of the lx200 to be used for guiding [good for extra long exposure shots. Im not sure on that though.
Thart observatory sounds great! As for council, im sure if a structure is under a certain size it can just go up, like one of those tin sheds you put together [my council hasnt said anything yet} but give em a call.

ps what kind of camera you thinking of?
Old 06-05-2008, 08:59 PM
peter brown

Thanks for confirming my suspicion

Thanks Luke, I'll start planning to build an inground pier support in the right position and hopefully the right height for a pier to support my 10" SCT. I have a Nikon D80 DSLR but will probably get a CCD camera if the technology isn't to far over my head. I,m 55 yrs young and I think the computer revolution is leaving me behind. Thanks again.
Old 06-05-2008, 09:35 PM
renormalised (Carl)
No More Infinities

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter brown View Post