Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-07-2010, 11:33 PM
Paduan (Brett)

Please help with constellations

Hi my name is Brett i am new to astronomy but have had an interest for a long time, now am finally doing something about it. i may have this in the wrong forum but here goes. i am trying to learn the constellations by lightly drawing pencil lines in my star atlas like a join the dots. my beef is that the basic 12 signs of the zodiac have been around for thousands of years yet no two websites can agree on how the stars are arranged i am having problems with Sagittarius in particular but it is not the only one is there any where i can get the real arrangement or is it a little hit and miss like Chinese whispers. Wikipedia shows three variations alone
Cheers
Old 12-07-2010, 12:50 AM
M54 (Molly)

Hi Brett,

to IIS.

Yes, I know what you mean about the constellations. They seem to be different in every star chart or atlas. I presume that over the centuries they have been interpreted and drawn up by different people and just visualised a bit differently. I think you'll find though that each different interpretation includes all the same stars, just joined up a little differently.
I just try to learn the stars belonging to each constellation and not worry about wether they are joined the same way.

Someone else might know a little more about this, hopefully they'll pipe in.

Ask any questions you like, no matter how dumb you think the question is, there's lots of friendly and knowledgable people (I'm not one of the knowledgable ones) around here.

Old 12-07-2010, 08:12 AM
Liz

Brett. Yes, constellations can be tricky, and you will never know every single one, but as long as you know where a few of the main ones are.