Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 06-02-2008, 09:48 AM
mbaddah (Mo)

Obsession 12" vs General 12" Dob view

Hello

I've been doing bit of research lately on the obsession telescope, and they claim that their mirrors is the equivalent of gaining 2" extra of aperature (i.e. 12" obsession is equivalent of 14" general dob).

Has anyone been able to verify if this is true or not? Do views in 12" Obsession excel those in standard 12" dob given same atmospheric conditions, eyepieces etc.. Thanks!
Old 06-02-2008, 11:37 AM
stringscope (Ian)

Hi,

First up, I must say I am no expert in this area. However, I have had some exposure to mirror refurbishing issues and I hope the following comments may be of some assistance.

Hopefully Satchmo might hop in with some expert advice on mirror coatings.

While you have specificaly mentioned Obsession, I guess the core of your question relates to the practicality of the various "enhanced" coatings vs the more basic Al and protected Al.

In the past there has been some discussion on the web re the longevity of enhanced vs standard coatings. By longevity, I am refering to the ability of the coating to retain its specified reflectivity level over time. My limited understanding is that enhanced coatings tend to loose their higher reflectivity levels over time and in the longer term you end up with similar levels to basic protected Al.

Bearing in mind (as far as I am aware) there is no facility available in this country for renewing such coatings, you might might want to look at the balance between coating longevity vs benefit vs cost vs local recoating capability.

In addition I understand some types of "enhanced" coatings cannot be stripped in the standard manner using an etching liquid and the only way to remove the old coating is to re-polish the mirror.

Cheers,
Old 06-02-2008, 11:43 AM
Starkler (Geoff)
4000 post club member