Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 07-08-2013, 01:29 PM
Petama20 (Mandy)

Help with Orion Skyquest XT10g Dobsonian - Magnification Issues

Hello,

I am fairly new to astronomy and my first telescope was a Celestron Goto 80mm (never got the Goto mastered unforunately) but I have now upgraded to an Orion Skyquest XT10g...I know I know...big jump. I am very much a leaner and only know some basics and still trying to understand all the lingo and terminology but I am hoping someone could provide me with help on this telescope in relation to maginifcation. I am sure it is probably just something very simple.

I finally got the telescope out last week (August 2013) and had Saturn in my view finder using a the 25mm Deep Sky eye piece but Saturn was was really really small. I could hardly see the rings and it appeared to be smaller than viewing in my old 80mm. I expected to be able to see Saturn quite large through the eye peice so obviously my problem is maginifcation and probably using the wrong eyepiece. Could someone please tell me what I am doing wrong here. I know from reading and searching on Google that you can see deep sky objects bigger than this with this telescope.

I did also have problems doing the 2 star alignment but I am sure this will get better with practice. I hope.

I am wanting to join a local club also so they can help me in person but they are very hard to get hold of in my area (Bendigo, VIC) so I decided to join this forum.

Would appreciate any help anyone can give me on this.

Amanda
Old 07-08-2013, 03:14 PM
Pinwheel (Doug)

The trouble here is deep space objects are a whole lot bigger than Saturn, Even in my telescope Orion M-42 is larger than Saturn even though M-42 is light years away.
Old 07-08-2013, 03:26 PM
Allan

Hi Amanda,

You've got yourself a very nice telescope there. Be prepared for some amazing views.