#1  
Old 23-08-2011, 07:15 PM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 2,158
amp glow?

Yesterday I managed to get nearly an hour of lights around antares. 30 second exposures, 5 second intervals with 450D. I have noticed a red glow on the images- is this amp glow? (ISO 800)
Should I allow longer for the camera to cool down between images?
I am using a battery so maybe it's thermal noise from the battery.
NB the actual frame time was longer with the pause for APT to download the frame, but I suppose the camera was still working when the software said "busy" (about 20-30 secs per frame)
Will post a pic so you know what I mean , but not now as in the garden waiting for the clouds to dissipate again
Graham.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-08-2011, 07:41 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,444
There is a Ha region around the bottom star after the small cluster so maybe you've picked that up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-08-2011, 08:24 PM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 2,158
amp glow

Could be, here it is.....it's certainly near the little cluster..
Graham
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (antares dss2.2.jpg)
183.3 KB33 views

Last edited by graham.hobart; 23-08-2011 at 08:26 PM. Reason: amended with photo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-2011, 08:49 PM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 2,158
amp glow

I just whacked the DSS frames through StarTools then to see what happened- boosted the background in Nebulosity- does this mean I was shooting in the wrong place to get some of the ophicius cloud complex or that I just haven't got enough light data?
graham
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (antares 22.2..2.jpg)
186.5 KB25 views
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-2011, 09:02 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 3,012
Assuming you're not using in camera noise reduction, take some dark frames and compare. Amp glow will show up on dark frames, nebulosity won't.

DT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-08-2011, 10:41 PM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 2,158
amp glow

This is a new (second hand) camera to me (450D) I took darks and didn't notice any thing so I assume it's nebulosity
I don't know how to do in camera noise reduction.
The frames were biased with flats/darks/ dark flats.
graham
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-08-2011, 11:37 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Amp noise normally shows up as a fan of fading red from one corner, the one nearest the electronics from examples I've seen previously. Yours looks more like nebulosity. Try the Darks solution above to confirm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement