Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-01-2007, 05:53 PM
cloudparter

Best club/society to join? (Melbourne)

Hi,

I'm an interested newbie who's spent a few clear nights looking at the sky and considering buying my first scope. (The 10" GS Dobs look very nice!)

After reading your advice in various threads, I think I need to join a club and look through some scopes to see if Astronomy is the thing for me. Where should I start?

Ken's Snake Valley club looks interesting but would be a decent drive for me.

The Astronomical Society of Melbourne and also the Astronomical Society of Victoria also look respectable (the Vic Society in particular seems very professional).

You'll probably all have different opinions as to where I should go! But I'd appreciate some experiences you've had with these societies (and others in Vic).

Cheers,
Matt
Old 05-01-2007, 06:13 PM
janoskiss (Steve H)

Each of those serve a different purpose. whereabouts in Melbourne are you? You might like to consider the Mornington Peninsula astro society also.
Old 05-01-2007, 06:20 PM
cloudparter

Quote:
Originally Posted by janoskiss View Post
Each of those serve a different purpose. whereabouts in Melbourne are you? You might like to consider the Mornington Peninsula astro society also.
I'm in East Melbourne, essentially next door to the CBD.

The Mornington Peninsula might be a little far to drive, but I'm open to suggestions!
Old 05-01-2007, 06:35 PM
cristian abarca

Hi Matt I'm a member of the ASV and they are a very professional association with roughly 1000 members. They have a deep sky site out at Heathcote which for me in the outer eastern suburbs isn't very close. so I joined the Mornington peninsula society as well as it's a bit closer. I would be looking at these two societies personally.

Regards cristian
Old 05-01-2007, 09:19 PM
anthony2302749

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudparter View Post