Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27-01-2014, 05:40 PM
Amaranthus (Barry)
Thylacinus stargazoculus

Not a beginner, but...

... happy to join the forums.

I've been doing amateur astronomy since 1985, and actually been tangentially involved in quite a bit of professional work (asteroid searches, variable star observations, SN detections) due to living at SSO for about 10 years in the 1980s to 1990s.

Currently own a Celestron Nexstar 8SE -- a nice, balanced instrument. Anyway, I look forward to participating in this community.

Last edited by Amaranthus; 27-01-2014 at 06:25 PM.
Old 27-01-2014, 06:15 PM
Allan_L (Allan)
Member > 10year club

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaranthus View Post
... happy to join the forums.

I've been doing amateur astronomy since 1985, and actually been tangentially involved in quite a bit of professional work (asteroid searches, variable star observations, SN detections) due to living at SSO for about 10 years in the 1980s to 1990s.

Currently own a Celestron Nexstar 8E -- a nice, balanced instrument. Anyway, I look forward to participating in this community.
Welcome to IIS Barry,
That is a nice bit of equipment you have there.

Glad to have you aboard with the great group of people,
and we look forward to hearing from you along the way.
Old 28-01-2014, 02:05 AM
Amaranthus (Barry)
Thylacinus stargazoculus

Thanks Allan, I've already been enjoying browsing these forums. Looks like I've found a new place to put high on my bookmark list!

The 8SE is indeed a nice instrument - it hits a real sweet spot in terms of price and performance. I've used a LOT of telescopes in my time (including regular use of an observatory-mounted 24") at a Bortle 1 site (SSO), and even with these biases (), I'm regularly pleasantly surprised how well my 8SE performances. Not perfect in all situations, but then, no 'scope is.