Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 16-09-2006, 10:08 PM
Gef_Dintsonian

First EP Purchase

OK, here I go. I have an 8" Bintel Dob (FL 1200mm; Ap 200mm; F/6) and the standard eyepieces (25", 15" and 9" Plossl). The Dob is called 'Dintsonian', as I managed to purchase it at firesale rates due to a couple of dints in the tube. They do not seem to affect the viewing experience. I'm not good with maths, so have ignored all of the FOV, eye relief, whatever else stuff.

I have a Telrad, and agree it is a great purchase, especially when used with Starry Night Backyard and its Telrad circles. I have no decent chair, but like the idea of putting the Dob on a milk crate (or a self-bodgied up small platform, when I get around to it) and keeping standing up, any suggestions welcome.

I like looking at the M objects that are about at whatever time of year I'm looking. I'm not that interested in the moon (too bright) and planets (too indistinct).

I generally jump from the 25mm to the 9mm Plossl pretty quickly in an effort to get 'closer', and have been frustrated with size of the image I see. I have had a suggestion that a wide field EP would be a good next step. I have a birthday coming but v. tight budget. I have seen (online at Andrews Comms) a William Optics "E-SWA09 9mm 1.25" SWA (72°)" for $89 plus postage.

1. Does anyone know about this eyepiece or its cousins?
2. Is a wide field EP a good idea? (and why?)
3. Is a wide field 9mm good for Messier hunting?
4. Should I just save longer (ie, forget about it for the forseeable future)?

A friend keeps talking about a Barlow, and some forums (fora?) I read seemed to be saying it is useful for planets.

5. Is that planet thing right?
6. Would a Barlow help me 'get closer' to the Messier objects?
7. Won't I get confused because I just got used to everything (except the Telrad view) being upside down?