Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-03-2010, 10:34 AM
phranticsnr (Dan)

Greetings!

Hi everyone,

I'm Dan. I'm new here. I'm also new to astronomy, though I've loved the idea of it since I was a primary schooler (the thick end of two decades ago). It's only recently that I realised that astronomy was a thing I could actually do now that I am a grown up.

So I got me a little 70mm refractor a few weeks ago (and have since been given a 76mm reflector as well) in order to learn the sky. When I get a bit richer I'll invest in a bigger 'scope. We all gotta start somewhere though, right?

Anyway, I'm in Brisbane and I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for darker skies to take my scope (and camera - I've been a photography nerd for a long time) near (<1.5 hours drive) here.

-Dan
Old 05-03-2010, 10:43 AM
mswhin63 (Malcolm)

A good start before considering purchace of another scope is Astro Clubs. They all have outings to specific Dark Skys and usually can come with them for a short time before asking to become members.

This is what I did after I purchaced my first scope. Now i am happy with my final decision which will last me a long time. Information from this website is also very informative as well and can assist in your decision.

As far as your scope the main thing to consider is what type of observing or Astro Photography whether you want automated alignment of the viewing area (motorised mounts - Tracking) or don't mind pushing scope to keep up with earth rotation.
Old 05-03-2010, 10:50 AM
Liz

Dan ... yes, it is a wonderful hobby
What you need to do is try and learn the main constellations, so you can can discover some goodies to look at.
It does take awhile, as all looks a bit like a huge dot to dot to start off with (did for me).