Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24-12-2013, 12:16 PM
gazob (Garry)

First light objects for Christmas noobies

Being a total noob and having a few books and a scope (10" dob) wrapped under the tree, tomorrow evening will be first light.

Looking at the forecast (sunbury) it doesn't look too horrible over the next fortnight, Christmas night partially cloudy early with clouds clearing by the early hours of the morning, boxing day night foggy, then 2 clear nights, early January is also looking okay at this point.

So Tomorrow night, what and when would be good first objects?

At this point looking from my driveway so have darker skies nw through ne, but limited views all round below about 30 degrees. If the skies are good and there is something low on the horizon know of a few public spaces I could utilise not far from home.

GaZ
Old 24-12-2013, 12:26 PM
Astro_Bot

To start you off:

Orion Nebula
47 Tuc
Pleiades
Jupiter (after about 10pm, maybe later depending on obstructions)

Congrats and welcome to IIS.

Edit: And since it's the season, try the Christmas Tree Cluster/Cone Nebula (NGC2264) which will be above Jupiter or thereabouts.
Old 26-12-2013, 02:40 PM
gazob (Garry)

clouds seemed to roll through all night, but fr a short spell 11:30 to 1:30 had a nice clear sky and saw Jupiter, in the first instance clouds drifting in front and lowish on the horizon, but later it was higher and clearer and made out some details, and think we spotted 3 of the moons. With Christmas lights going on all around was hard to get dark adapted but they should die down over the next week.

We saw lots of stars and lots of details, but didn't know enough to know what we were actually looking at. If tonight is clear I think we will head out with a vry limited list of what to look for and some maps that will confirm when we find it.