Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41  
Old 26-07-2021, 09:23 PM
AdamJL
Registered User

AdamJL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 843
Video published 1hr ago on it... from an Aussie...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yyjsD6ASboQ
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 26-07-2021, 10:18 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,637
Great link - thanks Adam. Looking forward to trying this out
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 26-07-2021, 11:21 PM
Sayfog (Alistair)
Registered User

Sayfog is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sydney
Posts: 35
I've only tried on my rokinon 135mm lens so far, but all it needs is for the main camera to be able to platesolve as far as I can tell. (and given how instantly my RC8 platesolves too with its tiny FoV, I suspect it should be just fine with anything that solves already).

Tomorrow is meant to be clear, I'll try to make a video of the process when I do it.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 27-07-2021, 10:05 AM
Wilsil's Avatar
Wilsil (Wilco)
Registered User

Wilsil is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
How fussy is it for FOV (Sharpcap essentially requires a focal length near 200mm F5 from memory)? Could you platesolve the main scope and camera?
I was using Sharpcap with a focal length if 600mm and F7.5.
Plate solving with that combination is no issue at all.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 27-07-2021, 08:31 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilsil View Post
I was using Sharpcap with a focal length if 600mm and F7.5.
Plate solving with that combination is no issue at all.
But.....I think if you're initially a bit off the SCP you risk not getting a solve at that FL? Sharpcap really only has limited database for region close to the pole?
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 28-07-2021, 10:35 AM
Wilsil's Avatar
Wilsil (Wilco)
Registered User

Wilsil is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Greenwood
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
But.....I think if you're initially a bit off the SCP you risk not getting a solve at that FL? Sharpcap really only has limited database for region close to the pole?
And that's where the new NINA plugin comes in.
I tried it yesterday between the clouds rolling in and after dialing in the correct altitude, it worked.
In the end a total error of 00 00' 13". Happy with that.
And it was pointing somewhere north :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement