#341  
Old 06-04-2013, 05:51 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Thank you Bill and Lewis!
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 19-04-2013, 12:04 PM
Visionoz's Avatar
Visionoz (Bill)
Registered User

Visionoz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewisM View Post
5D MkII

Also, another issue: I create folders for each object. I tell the tools to save there, as well as the preview folder. No matter what I do, APT tells me it is saving where I specify, but it saves in the last used folder, regardless. Does not matter how I change settings - always saves same place!

I am using 2.01. The previous version did not have this folder issue.
LewisM

Did you get a resolution to the abovementioned issue yet?

Reason I ask is I've just got a similar issue after taking a long break from imaging and just getting back into it with the v2.20 - tried to do a run and the captures were all saved in the last used folder instead of the new path I specified!!

Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 19-04-2013, 04:55 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hi Bill,

Did you changed the path in the settings dialog box? A common mistake is to change the path of the Image browser in the tools tab
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 19-04-2013, 10:25 PM
Visionoz's Avatar
Visionoz (Bill)
Registered User

Visionoz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoddha View Post
Hi Bill,

Did you changed the path in the settings dialog box? A common mistake is to change the path of the Image browser in the tools tab
Thanks Ivo - I should have posted earlier that I did resolve this already - but was at work and too busy; just got home!

As usual your service is absolutely marvellous!

Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 19-04-2013, 10:30 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Many thanks Bill! Happy that problem is resolved
Reply With Quote
  #346  
Old 22-04-2013, 06:31 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hello,

There is a new section in the APT's site that contains video tutorials Take a look!

http://www.ideiki.com/astro/Videos.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 28-05-2013, 11:53 PM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,819
Hey Ivo,

Just sent you an e-mail asking is there a way to purchase the software on Mastercard or VISA without having to register all my identity details to Paypal?

Many thanks if you can help,

Cheers,

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 29-05-2013, 12:00 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hi Matthew,

You have mail
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 29-05-2013, 12:15 AM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,819
Wow Ivo - that was fast!

So if no M/C, VISA or direct account payment options yet; sigh - must plead with the wife to see if she will use her Paypal account...

BTW - sent you a reply on one feature I'd really like to see in an astronomy photograph control program - framing to centre a target (maybe leveraging Astro Tortilla) to place very faint targets dead on the imager!

Best regards,

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 29-05-2013, 12:23 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Thanks Matthew!

I hope this summer finally to implement the planned PointCraft. It is designed to do exactly the feature you are suggesting
Reply With Quote
  #351  
Old 01-06-2013, 08:00 PM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,819
Well finally I found someone with a Paypal account - thanks Ally - my son's girlfriend!

Anyway have APT controlling my Canon 400D via DSUB -> bulb, whilst BYE controls my Canon 40D. Both seem to control things correctly.

A few small anomalies:

1. on first run APT halted on the splash screen detecting TemperHum, which BYE was reading fine.

- Closed BYE - tried APT a few more times, cursed, killed it in Task Manager, ... removed and re-installed TemperHum - now both programs run and share the weather service correctly

2. Had APT try and discover Canon 40D (using Digic III version of APT) - no joy...

3. Had APT Digic II version try and connect Canon 400D (worked second time after power cycling camera and shutting down EOS utility).

Realised I had to have DSUB selected as the Bulb controlled.

Ran both Canon 40D (BYE) and 400D (APT) and both worked well. Now I have reading to do!

Cheers,

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #352  
Old 02-06-2013, 12:12 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hi Matthew,

You can use the Digic II version of APT to control both cameras, but keep in mind that only one program can make connection in same time. EOS utilities has to be closed because takes exclusive control... The case with TemperHum is similar. It doesn't like too much connections in same time...

If you want to control the both camera in same time, use the shortcuts in the Start menu - there you can find shortcuts APT_Camera1 and APT_Camera2
Reply With Quote
  #353  
Old 02-06-2013, 02:16 AM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,819
Thanks Ivo,

I tried that - I know a bit about EOS utilies; my elder brother works just down the road from where I live at Canon's research labs for the last twenty years and we tend to discuss cameras and software a bit!

When you say only one program can make a connection at the same time - you mean per Canon camera don't you - as I have two running simultaneously on different telescopes. I don't suppose the two cameras are loading one Windows driver and confusing the system stack, don't expect this as they are connected via individual USB ports!

I didn't realise the Digic II version of APT could control both cameras, thanks for that. I thought I would have to start one Digic II version and a separate Digic 3 version.

Any idea why neither version of APT couldn't see the Digic III 40D when BYE was closed and the 40D was the only camera powered? It had no problem seeing the 400D when it was on, but the 40D appeared invisible to it. Mind you after shutting down BYE I didn't try power cycling the 40D and then reclosing EOS utilities; just in case any connections weren't cleaned up and the 40D looked unavailable.

I tried APT, Camera 1 and Camera 2 for both the Digic II and Digic III versions of the software (all six combinations) as I installed both versions of software and simply created separate folders for the launch menu items. None of these options connected to the 40D (yet).

Must say I like several elements of your software on first walkthough - the plans groups of shots is a great idea and I love the suggestions of viewing targets. I am also keen to see how the sync function works (into The Sky 6, using "A Sky controlled telescope" hub driver connection). I've had no luck sync-ing Asro Tortilla to the Sky6 and wish to see if your software might... The ASCOM Vixen Skysensor2000 driver developers suggest it should work on a direct connect to the latest driver and that it may be The Sky6 disabling sync...

Keen to try the Liveview functionality of the 40D on APT; when I figure how to get it to finally connect I'll share the details!

Many thanks,

Matthew
Reply With Quote
  #354  
Old 02-06-2013, 02:42 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Matthew,

I have tested 2.20 with 40D myself I would suggest the following test.

Stop the both cameras. Start the 40D make sure that there is no other software that use the camera and start the Camera_1 icon. Then start the 400D and use the Camera_2 icon.
Reply With Quote
  #355  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:29 AM
g__day's Avatar
g__day (Matthew)
Tech Guru

g__day is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,819
Thanks will try exactly that tomorrow and let you know the results. I reckon a power cycle will make it all work again the way you suggest!

BTW - with your telescope control SYNC function, do you keep track of what software programs and which mount drivers SYNC works with (or doesn't); over time that could be extremely useful. For instance the developers of ASCOM drivers for Vixen let me know directly connecting Astro Tortilla to Vixen driver has SYNC working fne for them, but not if you pass it through Plain Old Telescope Hub (POTH) - it apparently drops the SYNC command!

Cheers, Matt
Reply With Quote
  #356  
Old 02-06-2013, 05:34 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
I have no feedback if SS2K works fine with 2.20. Before that there were problems, but 2.20 introduced a way to force LX200 protocol usage which I believe will in help for SS2K...
Reply With Quote
  #357  
Old 16-08-2013, 11:21 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
Hello,

I'm happy to announce that the new version of APT is available for download Many thanks for all the help that made it possible!

The usual list of changes is below.

2013/08/16 - v.2.30 New features and bug fixes
-Added: Custom support for QSI cameras (check the User's guide for filter names definition)
-Confirmed: Works with Moravian cameras
-Added: Don't sync EOS clock setting in Advanced Tab
-Added: Import/Export site coordinates from/to ASCOM in Location Tab
-Added: Canon library 2.13 is incorporated
-Added: Correct B or M dial mode check for Shoot button
-Added: Filter wheel usage in EOS mode plans
-Added: Filter name is part of the file names in EOS mode
-Added: Region of Interest in CCD mode
-Added: Meridian Flip Clock (full version only)
-Added: Countdown beeps for the last 3s of a pause in focus plans and delayed execution
-Added: Temperature tab in settings dialog
-Added: Support for USB_Dewpoint sensor
-Added: Cooling/Warming Aid for CCD mode
-Added: Detection of possible thermal shock in CCD mode
-Changed: Faster focuser position feedback

-Moved: ASCOM focuser control is available in the demo version.
-Moved: Sound notifications are available in the demo version.

-Fixed: Problems with EOS 6D
-Fixed: Disappearing Cross
-Fixed: Low LiveView frame rate when Right lens control button is used
-Fixed: TIFF creation crash in EOS mode when long plan is executed
-Fixed: Minor bug in the APT dithering
-Fixed: Minor bug in EOS mode when Auto cancel feature is used
-Fixed: Crash in CCD mode when LiveView is ON and APT is closed
-Fixed: Crash in CCD mode when many images are taken
-Fixed: Bug in Darkness clock when there is no Astro twilight
-Fixed: Minor fixes here and there
-Updated: User's Guide document (the new things are in green)
Reply With Quote
  #358  
Old 17-08-2013, 05:38 AM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
If someone have problem with switching between EOS and CCD mode, just download the archive from the site again
Reply With Quote
  #359  
Old 22-08-2013, 11:20 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
There is a small update to fix some recently found problems missed during the beta tests

2013/08/22 - v.2.31 Small update
- Added: Possibility to set CCD temperature in one step by setting Cooling/Warming step to 0
- Changed: When PHD dithering is in progress the PHD Status is updated on every second
- Fixed: Bug in PHD dithering on some computers
- Fixed: Bug in CCD mode when Shoot and Stop combination is used
- Fixed: A bug that generates huge log file in EOS Mode during LiveView. The old file will be automatically cleared
- Fixed: Bug in EOS plan with filter wheel change and 0s pause
Reply With Quote
  #360  
Old 17-09-2013, 10:03 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 397
There is a small update on the server

2013/09/17 - v.2.32 Small update
- Added: Latest Canon library
- Added: Support for EOS 70D
- Added: Dithering settle time in APT native dithering
- Verified: All features except Mirror Locking works with EOS 70D
- Fixed: Bug in ImagePreview "Browse" button
- Fixed: Bug in APT native dithering
- Fixed: Bug in switching between Color and Mono FITS preview
- Fixed: Bug when Serial cable is used with Digic III and newer cameras
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement