Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-12-2022, 01:34 AM
Karbon (Andrew)

Help needed :(

Hi all. I'm very new to astrophotography. I bought a 5" Newt a couple of years ago, and got an SV305 camera and took some videos of Saturn & Jupiter that I stacked into some images I was quite pleased with.

I've since then been saving up for a while, and finally bit the bullet and got a Star Adventurer GTi with a Redcat 51, and an ASI120MM Mini + WO Uniguide (32mm F4). I'm using a laptop with the SynScan Pro app, along with APT and PHD2. However, I'm having a lot of trouble with it.

It feels like there's something very wrong with the mount. No matter how I align it, it can't seem to slew to targets accurately, nor track particularly accurately for that matter. I've performed a polar alignment, although I don't know exactly how accurate I am with it given I'm in Melbourne Australia and I can't see any stars through the polar scope, let alone the octans. I've tried using APT's Polar alignment with plate solving, and it can plate solve okay, but the adjustments it suggests are often wildly off. E.g. trying to point me to 160 degrees, rather than true south (edit: I think this was mostly due to using the SV305 for plate solving; when I switch to the 120MM Mini it was more accurate and consistent). Also, when using APT I can plate solve the current target, then use APT to goto a new target, plate solve again, slew again, and repeat this about 3-4 times before it will get me to the right location.

If I perform alignment with the app directly, when I slew to the next target it can be out by anything from 5 to 20+ degrees.

Another example of weird behaviour is when I tried to calibrate PHD2. It consistently shows an orthogonality error of 35-60 (see image). You can see from the tracking that one axis seems to go at 45 degrees to the other; it's quite consistent in that error also.

https://imgur.com/a/Z9QnQba