#1  
Old 23-12-2008, 11:57 AM
deadsimple's Avatar
deadsimple (Ash)
Registered User

deadsimple is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 180
DSLR mounting?

Hi all,

I recently bought a Canon 450D, brilliant camera! I did some basic 15 second exposures of the night sky on a regular tripod but now I want to move onto tracking with and without a telescope. Unfortunately I have no idea where to begin!

I have an EQ6, 200mm f/6 Newt and dovetail bar and tube rings to match.

1. For a simple DSLR-on-EQ6 setup, what hardware or adapters would I need to acquire? Would it better to mount the camera side-by-side with a finderscope (I have no other suitable refractor) to see what it is I'm taking a shot of and for basic mount alignment?

2. Following that, I imagine the mount's counter-weights might not be needed since the camera is so light and also close to the mount?

3. For combining the DSLR with the telescope for prime-focus, would I be right getting these items?

Crayford Focuser Low Profile 10:1 (Product Link)
T-ring Canon EOS (Product Link)
2" Camera Adapter (Product Link)

(I can -just- get prime focus with my Toucam and definitely not with the DSLR, hence the replacement low-profile focuser suggested to me)

Anything else I should be aware of? The camera would have no problems staying in the focuser without other mechanical support?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-12-2008, 06:58 PM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,999
Quote:
Anything else I should be aware of
Baader MPCC, you may not need the low profile focusser as the Baader MPCC adjusts the focus point as well as removing coma.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-12-2008, 07:30 AM
lesbehrens's Avatar
lesbehrens (Les)
Les

lesbehrens is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qld
Posts: 523
while this thread is being looked at i was wondering if i could use my Barlow tube as the 2" camera adapter?
les
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-12-2008, 08:23 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Les,

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbehrens View Post
while this thread is being looked at i was wondering if i could use my Barlow tube as the 2" camera adapter?
les
Yep, you can! I do the same thing as I seem to have misplaced the proper adapter.

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-12-2008, 09:55 AM
lesbehrens's Avatar
lesbehrens (Les)
Les

lesbehrens is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qld
Posts: 523
thanks.
les

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octane View Post
Les,



Yep, you can! I do the same thing as I seem to have misplaced the proper adapter.

Regards,
Humayun
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement