Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 19-03-2007, 07:39 PM
Sgtfretsurfer
Wonderer

Attention DRIFT aligners

hey im new to drift aligning and i cant seem to get my head around something. if im using a Newtonian telescope and adjusting the azimuth (ie with star on the meridian above the SCP) and i noticed that the guide star drifts in an upwards (northerly) direction, does the azimuth need to be adjusted towards to the west or the east? also is the 'upwards' direction governed by the movement from the RA axis?
i have found a few guides on the internet but most are for the northern hemisphere (so im supposed to reverse it?), and one site mentioned that u have to reverse everything for a Newtonian telescope. trying to get my head around it is sending me mad!
Old 19-03-2007, 08:28 PM
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

First identify the directions in your eyepiece. Start with the west (Preceeding) direction. This is the way the star drifts in RA when you are not running the motor. Directly opposite to this is the east (Following) direction. Then for a Newtonian with no eyepiece diagonal, you can identify North and South by going around the edge of your field of view a circle in a clockwise direction PSFN -- Preceeding, South, Following, North--easily remembered as "Poisonous Snakes Fear Nobody". If you do use an eyepiece diagonal, you have to go counterclockwise. (More precisely; if your optical setup has an even number of reflections, go clockwise. If it has an odd number of reflections--eg a refractor with a diagonal-- go counterclockwise)

If you look East to adjust altitude, then if the star drifts North, raise your altitude, if it drifts South, drop the altitude.

If you look West to adjust altitude, then if the star drifts South, raise your altitude, if it drifts North, drop the altitude.